Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Passing (or stopping someone pass) on a reach?? |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | ||||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 08 Dec 14 at 3:46pm |
|||
Well done Rupert. It is always interesting to read the definitions! Admittedly for 'overlap' you have to read 'Clear Astern and Clear Ahead' and the definition takes some understanding (easier if you draw or use model boats.
|
||||
Gordon
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
I think I've worked out what one problem is - the overlap doesn't stay parallel to the direction to the next mark, ds797, but to the transom of your boat, so as Brass says, when you turn too far you create the very overlap you were trying to avoid.
|
||||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
craiggo ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 01 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1810 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
As Rupert says, regarding scenario 1 if you gain an overlap to windward of the boat ahead then they are entitled to luff you up head to wind as long as they give you room to do so.
In scenario 2 where you attempt to sail to leeward, while you are clear astern the boat infront can bear away to try and force you to overtake them on their windward side, however in the process of bearing away they may inadvertently create an overlap! |
||||
![]() |
||||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
1 yes, 2 NO, therefore 3 no. If a boat goes to leeward you cannot sail below your proper course, or the boat overtaking to leeward above her proper course, if it will interfere with the other boat. Before the overlap is gained, you can sail above or below proper course, but not in such a way that the other boat cannot avoid you. It is normal to not want the boat to go to windward, but to leeward, unless there are other tactical considerations (like the way round the next mark).
|
||||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
||||
![]() |
||||
ds797 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 28 Mar 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 11 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Ok are these statements correct.....?
1- If I'm trying to pass a boat in front, if I try to sail to windward of her she can luff up to head to wind (which I would have to also do to avoid collision). 2- If I'm trying to pass to leeward of her, she can immediately turn up to around 90 degrees to "block" me from passing that side. 3- Therefore the boat in front can basically weave around by up to around 180 degrees to block me from passing. So the only way I could pass would be to head off way to leeward of her and establish an overlap some distance downwind of her? Obviously the front boat "weaving" is not sensible for the front boat to do in a multiboat handicap race as the people behind will catch up, but if its a series and you need to finish in front of me it would be a usable tactic...... |
||||
![]() |
||||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
When a boat that is clear ahead changes course her only restriction is that when doing so she must give the other boat room to keep clear (rule 16)
|
||||
Gordon
|
||||
![]() |
||||
craiggo ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 01 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1810 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Just to make it clear to the OP, the rules allow a boat clear ahead to sail where they like. There is no obligation to sail a proper course but clearly it is in their interests to do so.
The rules only come into play when overlaps are formed. |
||||
![]() |
||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Maybe you are not grasping the fairly straightforward application of rule 17 because you are under a misconception about how the game should be played. Unlike a swimming race, or a 100m running race, which are based on pure speed, the Racing Rules of Sailing permit boats to interact with one another, in the course of a race so as to gain or defend tactical advantages, depending on the rights and obligations imposed by the rules. In particular, the rules have always traditionally permitted a boat being overtaken to 'defend her wind', that is to prevent a boat 'overtaking' to windward from blanketing her to wind by luffing and driving the windward boat further to windward. Conversely, a boat 'overtaking' to leeward is forbidden, by rule 17 from unnecessarily interfering with a boat to windward, even though she has right of way. So 'zig-zagging' is not only not unsportsmanlike, but is an essential part of the game as it is played.
Quite correct
If the boat behind is attempting to pass to windward (from clear astern becomes overlapped to windward) there is no limitation on how high the leeward boat can sail to defend herself, right up until she gets to and past head to wind, at which point she has changed tack and becomes the give way boat under rule 13. If the boat behind becomes overlapped to leeward, if she becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths of the other boat, she is limited by rule 17 which requires her to sail no higher than her proper course (which is a defined term and has bee discussed in these threads). If there is more than 2 hull lengths between the boats when they become overlapped, rule 17 does not apply and there is no proper course limitation.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
If your proper course (ie, you'd be doing it whether the other boat was there or not) would be to luff in the lulls and bear off in the gusts, then you can carry on doing the luffing part of this even if you aren't in a position where you are allowed to luff the other boat for tactical reasons. You aren't allowed to bear away, though, if there is a boat to leeward which you will impede, so if you overtake a slower boat to windward, then catch a big gust (especially when flying an assy), you either have to rag it, swim or both...
If you are overtaking a boat to leeward and the wind drops, then you can alter course to suit. However, as it is likely that at least part of the wind dropping will be because you are in the lee of the other boat, you'd have to be pretty damn sure of yourself when taking it to protest, as altering course because of the other boat's wind shadow is not proper course. |
||||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |