Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Mark rounding/windward boat |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | |||
Presuming Ed ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Feb 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 641 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 04 Oct 13 at 10:18am |
||
Leeward never lost her rights, nor obligations under 14/16.1.
If leeward luffs in such a way that the only way you, as windward, can comply with 11 is by tacking and hitting the mark, then she has broken 16.1. If her luff complies with 16.1 and you have the option of luffing, sailing high and slow, but decide not to do that and tack off instead, and as a result hit the mark then you are in breach of 31.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
She had given me room, there was no collision, so that side of things was fine. I guess the question was, at what point did the rights of the leeward boat kick back in again after mark room was given. The answer, logically, was as soon as the inside boat was clear of the mark. As there was no tide, I would have been able to get clear (I think I tacked off, but too late) as soon as my transom was clear. In adverse tide, I would think that if being forced to tack off then pushes you back down onto the mark, you would still need mark room?
|
|||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|||
![]() |
|||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Rupert - you are correct in stating that the room to be given is the room needed by the entitled boat. A Flying Dutchman on the inside will need more room than an Optimist
In the same way the zone is defined as 3 hull lengths of the boat nearer to the mark. On the other hand when rule 17 is in operation the proper course in question is the proper course of the leeward boat. These precisions should be enough to ensure that the rules work for mixed fleets. In your unsuccessgul protest did you argue that the leeward, right of way boat, had an obligation, under rule 16, to give you room to keep ckear when she changed course. |
|||
Gordon
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
I got caught like this a few years ago after a less than perfect (though still within "seamanlike") rounding, when the leeward boat was able to force me to keep clear right after the mark. Luckily I did turns, as I lost the protest that I was still in the process of rounding. Up to that point, I'd not realized how quickly it all switches off. So long as we all understand how the rule works, then it isn't too bad, though in handicap racing there is both the problem of how high different boats point coming out of a mark, and how long it takes them to get to that point. If rounding outside a big, heavy boat, then they have the right to take their normal amount of time, I assume, to round and keep clear.
The rules really don't work as well for a mixed fleet. |
|||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|||
![]() |
|||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
In ordinary club level fleet racing I think there could be advantages if the mark room protection extended until the inner boat leaves the zone provided she maintains a proper course to the *next* mark (and without tacking), but I hate to think what sort of abuses might be made of such at elite level, let alone the perversions of match and team racing...
|
|||
![]() |
|||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
It is interesting to stress test your proposition that an 18.2b continues until the entitled boat leaves the zone. Turn to team racing... which (mis)uses the same rules...
What your interpretation leads to is that a boat that has passed the mark but not left the zone can gybe, return to the mark and once again claim mark room off other boats! Team racers would love to be able to do this - and they can but without any protection from rule 18! The rule (18.2 and the definition of mark-room) defines a corridor to the mark and around the mark. The dimensions of this corridor are variable according to the conditions, and may turn out to be bigger than originally expected. There may be disagreement as to the size of this corridor (which will be settled by the PC). Whilst taking mark-room the entitledboat has an obligation to manoeuvre in a seamanlike way, which may not be to the entitled boat's tactical advantage. Once the entitled boat has sailed through this corridor and out the far end then they have been given mark-room as defined. The obligation of the room-giving boat ends and the entitled boats exoneration under rule 21 ends. 18.2 obligations can ALSO end because the entitled boat passes head to wind or leaves the zone. However the entitlement to mark room does not necessarily apply until the entitled boat leaves the zone. It can end before the entitled boat leaves the zone (There was not an extraneous negative in my previous post). |
|||
Gordon
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Edited by Brass - 03 Oct 13 at 1:24am |
|||
![]() |
|||
NickM ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 27 May 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 328 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Thanks guys for a very clear explanation as always. I was the helm of B and, as my initial reactions was doubt about who was in the right, I didn't shout. It was of course moderately windy and A was executing quite a tight turn and did not sheet in quickly. Actually I'm not sure he even noticed the minor contact.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Brass - I would take issue only on one point:
the entitlement to mark room ceases to apply: - when the course of the boat entitled to mark-room is no longer determined by need to leave the mark on the required side, that is when she no longer needs room to sail to the mark or room to round the mark to sail her course (This may be when she leaves the mark astern, but especially in tidal waters this may be somewhat later). From this moment rule 18 may apply, but rule 18.2(b) ceases to have any relevance as the is nothing left to be entitled to... OR if she leaves the zone or passes head to wind before the above condition is met. However the entitlment to mark room does not automatically apply until the boat entitled to mark-room leaves the zone. A further minor point: The boat length from the mark, 45° indication in Case 25 gives us an EXAMPLE rather than an authorative guide. "Much more space" implies that if she had been closer to the mark, or had luffed further the boat could still have been taking "more" space than that to which she was entitled. |
|||
Gordon
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
I agree that Case 25 will get you there in this scenario, but note the following:
I suggest that there is a slightly different analysis available in this case. First, Rule 18.2( b ) is NOT 'switched off'. It continues to apply while ever the boat entitled to mark-room remains in the zone and does not pass head to wind (rule 18.2( b ), last sentence). And, of course rule 11 applied throughout: its just that while a boat is sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled she will be exonerated if she breaks a right of way rule (rule 21).
In the scenario described, when the incident occurred, OP said the mark was just astern (presumably of at least A, the boat entitled to mark-room), thus the boat entitled to mark-room:
So, all the actions defined in mark-room have happened and been completed in the past. The boat entitled to mark-room is no longer sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled: she is thus, no longer entitled to exoneration if she breaks a right of way rule; and the boat owing mark-room no longer needs to take any action to give mark-room.
The boat entitled to mark-room clearly breaks rule 11, is not exonerated by rule 21 and thus, on valid protest should be penalised.
The above analysis relies on an observable fact: mark left astern, rather than on a qualitative judgement about how far from the mark exceeds the space to which the boat entitled to mark-room is entitled. I think it is easier to apply.
Note, however, that Case 25 is very useful about the space or room: the third last paragraph says:
If it is not possible to apply the 'left the mark astern' criterion, this provides us with an authoritative guide to how much room is too much.
|
|||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |