New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Near collision whilst broaching
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Near collision whilst broaching

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Near collision whilst broaching
    Posted: 20 Aug 13 at 12:30pm
Another formulation:

If a boat is obliged to perform an unseamanlike manouevre by a another boat that should keep clear or give room then the relevant rule has been broken. If in the course of the unseamanlike manoeuvre a boat suffers damage or injury tihen the appropriate penalty for the infringing boat is to retire as soon as she becomes aware of the damage.

When is a gybe unseamalike - probably when it has to be performed immediately, without the normal (for the boat) preparation.
Gordon
Back to Top
Hitcher View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Dec 10
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 38
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hitcher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 13 at 11:00pm
Originally posted by Brass

Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by Ruscoe

However is a gybe considered to be when the white sails cross the boat or when the spinnaker is reset on new leg? 


Get thee to the definitions section of the rule book for gybe...



Fair darts Jim, You'll look for a long time to find 'tacking' or 'gybing' in the definitions. They went in 1995. Their meanings are now their common English, or nautical meanings.

What matters, for the purposes of the rules is what tack a boat is on (at any instant): to get to this we look at the definition of Tack, Starboard or Port, which takes us back to the definition of Leeward and Windward, which talks about 'the side on which her mainsail lies'.

Right of way transitions in tacks are 'buffered' by rule 13 While Tacking.

Transitions in gybes are instantaneous (except in Match Racing). You can tell when the gybe is complete, but not when it starts.


I'm not sure I can think of a situation where the rules ever need to know when a gybe starts though? 
As you say, a gybe is instantaneous, so it starts the instant before the boat is on the new tack and the gybe completed. 
So in this case the boat is on port and bearing away at a RoW leeward boat until the moment it is on starboard aiming at it and out of control.
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Aug 13 at 3:07am
Originally posted by Ruscoe
[snip



One thing I would disagree with is how was the damage caused by boat A?  No physical contact,  sure a gybe was forced on boat B, how would a supposed 'Crash Gybe' knacker a kite? 


Case 110

...Contact is not necessary for one boat to cause injury or physical damage to another.
...
Question 2
Must contact between the boats occur in order for redress to be granted
under rule 62.1(b)?

Answer 2
No. A boat that suffers injury to a member of her crew or physical damage while acting to avoid contact with a boat that has broken a rule of Part 2 may be entitled to redress if the injury or damage is found to have made her score significantly worse and was not her fault.


Damage to a kite can happen pretty easily in an involuntary gybe: pole and a foot or so of the kite tack digs in the water, loads up big time and the kite lets go around the tack reinforcing. The pole then
then bends L shaped around the leeward shrouds, for bonus points taking them out on the way. Likewise, boat bucketing around through the gybe, bow heroically manages to get the pole off, only to stick it right through the kite, or simply that your light kite that you have been nursing on the dead run just explodes or flogs itself to death when you round up into the broach.

Sure a genius helmsman might have kept it under control better, but as I said, I'd have no difficulty saying the other boat 'caused' the damage.
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Aug 13 at 2:51am
Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by Ruscoe

However is a gybe considered to be when the white sails cross the boat or when the spinnaker is reset on new leg? 


Get thee to the definitions section of the rule book for gybe...



Fair darts Jim, You'll look for a long time to find 'tacking' or 'gybing' in the definitions. They went in 1995. Their meanings are now their common English, or nautical meanings.

What matters, for the purposes of the rules is what tack a boat is on (at any instant): to get to this we look at the definition of Tack, Starboard or Port, which takes us back to the definition of Leeward and Windward, which talks about 'the side on which her mainsail lies'.

Right of way transitions in tacks are 'buffered' by rule 13 While Tacking.

Transitions in gybes are instantaneous (except in Match Racing). You can tell when the gybe is complete, but not when it starts.




Edited by Brass - 06 Aug 13 at 2:55am
Back to Top
Lukepiewalker View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1341
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lukepiewalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 13 at 9:02pm
The fact that a boat required to keep clear is out of control does not entitle her to exoneration for breaking a rule of Part 2. When a right-of-way boat becomes obliged by
rule 14 to ‘avoid contact . . . if reasonably possible’ and the only way to do so is to crash-gybe, she does not break the rule if she does not crash-gybe.


Edited by Lukepiewalker - 05 Aug 13 at 9:03pm
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 13 at 6:10pm
Originally posted by Ruscoe

However is a gybe considered to be when the white sails cross the boat or when the spinnaker is reset on new leg? 
[snip]
One thing I would disagree with is how was the damage caused by boat A?  No physical contact,  sure a gybe was forced on boat B, how would a supposed 'Crash Gybe' knacker a kite? 


Get thee to the definitions section of the rule book for gybe...

But, especially when you get to bigger or more delicate boats, there are all sorts of things that can break if you have to crash gybe... For example I normally had 3mm or 4mm ply sidedecks on my Cherubs, and if you bashed it hard with an elbow or knee you could do damage. No problem with normal sailing, but although I never did it I can imagine if I had to crash gybe maybe I could slip and crunch, hole in the deck.

In that case I reckon the damage would be entirely down to the boat that made me crash gybe, and heck, they can damn well pay up.



Edited by JimC - 05 Aug 13 at 6:11pm
Back to Top
Ruscoe View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 12 Jan 10
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1514
Post Options Post Options   Quote Ruscoe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 13 at 4:37pm

Brass, I agree.  I also hate the term Crash gybe, hence my post really.  A gybe to me is the complete maneuver otherwise it’s a major change of direction!  However is a gybe considered to be when the white sails cross the boat or when the spinnaker is reset on new leg?  Genuine question and one I should really know the answer to.  Also how do you define a seamanlike manner, could this protest be a result of someone’s inability to complete the gybe correctly (user error)  we have all been there even when not under pressure.

 

One thing I would disagree with is how was the damage caused by boat A?  No physical contact,  sure a gybe was forced on boat B, how would a supposed 'Crash Gybe' knacker a kite?  In the case of boat A's insurance I would be pretty miffed.  It would also be interesting to hear from insurance companies to understand their view points.

 

But agree with Mongrel...Brass, you really are a great source of rule interpretation.  Thanks for sharing.


Back to Top
mongrel View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 27 Aug 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 304
Post Options Post Options   Quote mongrel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 13 at 3:48pm
Brass, YOU ARE THE MAN/WOMAN when it comes to rules, another excellent post! Clap
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 13 at 2:55pm
Originally posted by Ruscoe

But if boat B has the ability to complete its 'Crash gybe' then surely it had time and oportunity to complete the manovure?  The fact the kite was damaged may be for a number of reasons.  How can this be proved to be boats A's faultif there was no contact?

I've previously said I don't like the term 'crash gybe' because it's slangy and carries no precise meaning.

I think, however, in this case it means, clearly enough, a gybe 'all standing', with spinnaker pole out the wrong side of the boat, toe of the pole and tack of the spinnaker in the water and so on: couldn't, by any stretch, be called 'seamanlike'.

If there was no room to do anything other than that, to avoid a serious collision, then A did not give room to keep clear in a seamanlike manner.

Likewise, I would have no difficulty in concluding that damage to B's kite was caused by A breaking the rules.

Understand that this is all 'hypothetical' based on words on the internet, and in a real protest hearing, the protest committee would be looking very carefully at evidence about how close, how strong the wind was, where and how the spinnaker was damaged.
Back to Top
laser193713 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 13 May 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 889
Post Options Post Options   Quote laser193713 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 13 at 2:14pm
What if this happened in the TDF... would anyone retire then?  Wink

Now, I will put my feet up, grab a beer and observe the chaos!  Beer
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy