Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Try this one... |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Author | |||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 08 Jun 13 at 11:37am |
||||
In this case the camera and its support are equipment in normal position.
That's a good one. If it came up in a protest hearing I would expect to see some mumbo jumbo about 'normal act of seamanship'.
Gotcha. Parts of a boat's equipment may have a range of 'normal positions'. I think that's in its normal position. If you propelled or deliberately wiggled it so as to touch a give way boat ... Case 73 you break rule 14 and rule 2. Unless you're in the UK and subject to RYA Appeal 2004/3:
Edited by Brass - 09 Jun 13 at 3:45am |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
RS400atC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Dec 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 3011 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
Twin tiller extension. As used on B14's and others. Some classes not all boats have them, depending on sheet arrangement. Fr'instance RS800's they are or were an option. The one you're not using trails out the back of the boat. You may not expect it to be there, but there it is, deliberately 4ft behind the boat.... |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
RS400atC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Dec 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 3011 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
Towing anything behind the boat would presumably break the propulsion rule?
Although it is a known survival technique in ocean sailing. |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
What about a camera on the end of a pole sticking out aft? Purely there for the boat carrying it to be able to look at film after (or put it on here...) but not there to deliberately make port duck further. Legal?
|
|||||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Quagers ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Oct 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 279 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
And yet we never see this, when if this was the case it could confer a huge advantage.
You could rig a long pole to leeward for the start to guarantee a gap to accelerate into. In the situation here you can force back into a duck several BLs longer than necessary. These actions seem pretty unsporting to me and clearly the community agrees or we would see them out on the course. For me any placement of a piece of equipment with only the intention of causing contact or making it harder to avoid is no on. Edited by Quagers - 08 Jun 13 at 9:43am |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
I don't think TR Call A4 adds anything: it's just a short gloss on Cases 73 and 74. It does, however remind me that, while the normal RRS do not mention deliberately breaking a rule, rule C8.3( b ) does enable umpires to give an additional penalty for deliberately breaking a rule in Match Racing. Curiously this doen't seem to be repeated in Appendix D for Team Racing. I think the essence of Case 73 is the 'reaching out' and making contact when otherwise the give way boat is keeping clear. Thus, reaching out with a hand or extending an extendable bowsprit, or heaving a line, so as to make contact, when that action 'could have no other intention than to cause W to break [a right of way] rule' intentionally and avoidably breaks rule 14 and in deliberately breaking a rule to gain advantage breaks rule 2. The reservation in RYA Appeal 2004/3 that touching a boat that is so close that she is already breaking rule 11 seems to me valid and useful here. I don't agree that trailing a line, or say rigging a spinnaker pole to windward without a spinnaker set, in order to increase the 'envelope' of a right of way boat that a keep clear boat must keep clear around, as long as the equipment has been out of its normal position long enough for the equipment to have been seen and avoided breaks any rule. Case 91 says exactly that. There is a very limited number of rules that depend on a boat's equipment being 'in normal position' (Definition Clear Ahead, Clear Astern, Overlap, and Definition Finish). There is no other requirement concerning a boat sailing with her equipment in normal position in the rules.
Edited by Brass - 08 Jun 13 at 7:21am |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Quagers ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Oct 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 279 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
My personal opinion on this which is shaped by TR call A4 and case 73 is that if the mainsheet is trailed purely with the intention of causing contact or forcing port into a much larger duck than normal then that would be a R2 infringement. If its something the boat does every lap then there is more of an argument to be made.
I can't see how discussing a hypothetical question on an internet board is insulting to anyone, by discussing these sort of issues everyone learns how the rules apply in different situations and improves their knowledge out on the water. Which can in turn only be of benefit to all of us. Clearly "what if it was deliberate" was always going to be asked in relation to this question as it raises interesting points. Edited by Quagers - 08 Jun 13 at 2:35am |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
If contact results from S deliberately trailing a sheet, hawser or fishing line, then S breaks rule 14 because it was reasonably possible for her to have avoided contact by not trailing the thing. What on earth is a twiller and why are you abusing it by calling it lazy?
[A] port tack boat shall keep clear of a starboard tack boat (rule 10). I suppose one could argue that a sheet is part of a boat, but a hawser is not, but I'm not attracted to that. P is obliged to keep clear of S, including any part of S that she is trailing behind her, regardless of whether it is reasonably possible for P to do so or not. Right of way rules are absolute rules: they are not subject to conditions. P is also obliged to avoid contact with S if reasonably possible (rule 14). In this scenario as fully explained in Case 77, Nothing P did or failed to do, or can do or not do will cause S to 'need to take avoiding action' so P is not failing to keep clear and P does not break rule 10. The trailing sheet or whatever, not being readily visible to P, it is not reasonably possible for P to avoid contact with it and P does not break rule 14.
In both those cases it's being done deliberately and the principles discussed above and in Case 77 can be applied. But I'm pretty sure trailing a fishing line is like flying an ensign: a certain signal that a boat is not racing <g>.
That's what a boat protesting under rule 2 needs to convince the protest committee. Edited by Brass - 08 Jun 13 at 2:26am |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
RS400atC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Dec 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 3011 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
What rule has S broken by trailing a sheet exactly? Is it that different from trailing the lazy twiller? If S chooses to trail a warp, is P not obliged to keep clear of it, to the limit that this is possible? I accept that if you don't see the line until it's too late, it's not possible. But supposing S is not a dinghy but some retro cruiser-racer towing a walker log... Or my mate Roger who caught a few mackeral while winning a race back from the IoW..... I thought that deliberately breaking any rule to gain an advantage broke Rule 2? What else is the established principle of sportsmanship if it is not to attempt to play within the rules? |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
RS400atC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Dec 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 3011 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
If the port boat hailed the starboard boat to pull his sheet aboard, would starboard be obliged to do so?
I have in the past trailed a kite halyard on a keelboat to work the twists out of it, during a race. I have also done the same with a main halyard when coming ashore on a beach with waves. |
|||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |