New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Drifting onto bouy whilst mast isin the w
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Drifting onto bouy whilst mast isin the w

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
djdhi View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06 Oct 07
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 44
Post Options Post Options   Quote djdhi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Drifting onto bouy whilst mast isin the w
    Posted: 27 Sep 09 at 10:09am

Hi, if I drift onto a bouy whilst capsized, ie with the mast inthe water--- is that an infringement ?

djdhi

Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Sep 09 at 10:18am
Yes, whilst a boat is racing., rule 31 Touching a mark applies So if you touch the starting mark before starting, a mark that begins, bounds or ends a leg of the course which you are sailing or a finishing mark after finishing, then you must take a penalty.

Attention, there may still be classes in which class rules deem that a boat whose masthead touched the water has retired. It is in the standard SIs for team racing for instance.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Sep 09 at 8:34pm

Originally posted by gordon


Attention, there may still be classes in which class rules deem that a boat whose masthead touched the water has retired. It is in the standard SIs for team racing for instance.

Gordon

Well I never knew that.

I'm intrigued to know which classes have ever (or still have) that rule?

Back to Top
redback View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: Tunbridge Wells
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1502
Post Options Post Options   Quote redback Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Sep 09 at 9:16pm
Dragons?
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Sep 09 at 10:37pm
International 14s. It is also in the standard UKTRA team racing SIs


Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
craiggo View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1810
Post Options Post Options   Quote craiggo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Sep 09 at 8:57am
It also depends if you are at an RS event, where touching of the marks is permitted.
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Sep 09 at 9:18am
Only at class events if it is written into the SIs. The act of buying an RS boat does not give a general dispensation from the RRS!

The RS modification of rule 31 (which allows you to touch but not manhandle a mark) does not seem to have gained general acceptance outside RSworld.

Does anyone believe that it is a modification worth using, or does the modification just mean that mark roundings are even more indisiplined?

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Sep 09 at 10:00am
Those of us who sometime sail around knarly barnacled navigation marks in a few knots of tide tend to view touching marks as a bad thing.
Back to Top
asterix View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 01 Aug 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 621
Post Options Post Options   Quote asterix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Sep 09 at 1:32pm

Originally posted by gordon

Only at class events if it is written into the SIs. The act of buying an RS boat does not give a general dispensation from the RRS!

The RS modification of rule 31 (which allows you to touch but not manhandle a mark) does not seem to have gained general acceptance outside RSworld.

Does anyone believe that it is a modification worth using, or does the modification just mean that mark roundings are even more indisiplined?

Gordon

It's also not only used for RS boats. I have competed events where Laser 4000s and 5000s have been allowed to touch the marks (but oddly not the L2000s).  I don't understand why this is done

Back to Top
craiggo View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1810
Post Options Post Options   Quote craiggo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Sep 09 at 3:29pm
Gordon, your right the modifications to the rule for RS boats only applies at RS events.

I have to say that being able to hit the marks in practice makes no difference at all to the way you sail as hitting the mark with the boat is slow.

However it does reduce the number of protests and turns as nobody is concerned if your back brushes the mark as you sail by.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy