New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Water a the mark protest
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Water a the mark protest

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Jack Sparrow View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 08 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2965
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jack Sparrow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Water a the mark protest
    Posted: 29 Apr 07 at 6:39pm
Interested on people's views on this.

Windward mark. 2 boats inside and overlapping each other and the 3rd outside boat at 2 boat lenghts. 3rd outside boat after repeated calls did not give enough room for the 2nd boat to give enough room to boat 1. Boat 1 hits boat 2, boat 2 was very, very close to 3 but didn't hit boat 3. There was a protest. On the face of it a open and shut case you would think. Boat 2 protested boat 3 for not giving water for insurance claim for damaged from boat 1's collison with her. Boat 2 lost the protest beacuse it did not hit boat 3. Boat 3 was judged to of given enough room beacuse it wasn't hit by boat 2.

Is this correct?

Or was the Protest committee using an old rule book!
I was a wittness not the protester. Boat 3 didn't give enough room.


2005-2008 ISAF sailing rules...

AVOIDING CONTACT

A boat shall avoid contact with another boat if reasonably possible.
However, a right-of-way boat or one entitled to room...

(a) need not act to avoid contact until it is clear that the other boat
is not keeping clear or giving room, and

(b) shall not be penalized under this rule unless there is contact that
causes damage or injury.


Back to Top
mike ellis View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 30 Dec 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2339
Post Options Post Options   Quote mike ellis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Apr 07 at 6:48pm

well if boat 2 needed to fil out a claim form could it be said that boat 1 had caused serious damage, in which case it's boat 1s fault but that doesn't seem fair to me if boat 2 was avoiding boat 3 then could boat 2 point out that it wasn't boat 1s fault it was actually boat 3s fault?

just me trying to work it out, probably wrong somewhere.

600 732, will call it Sticks and Stones when i get round to it.
Also International 14, 1318
Back to Top
FreshScum View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 27 Apr 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 99
Post Options Post Options   Quote FreshScum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Apr 07 at 7:00pm

You definitely don't have to hit someone to win a protest. (Possibly this was less true in earlier rules.) If you did, Boat 2 would have only been able to win the protest if it hit both boats 1 and 3. Boat 1 would  have had to hit the mark and Boat 2 to show that there wasn't enough room.

It should come down to whether the protest committee believed that a reasonable person in Boat 2's position would feel confident that it has space to do what it is required to.(I think is what the Isaf cases say) So its a believeability contest.

As a general point it seems to be better to try and hit the boat which is 'the most' wrong if there is a multiple boat situation, ie Hitting Boat 3 as windward and outside. Not much help now, sorry.

Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Apr 07 at 7:35pm
If the facts found by the PC were that the outside boat left enough room for the two inner boats to get through, and the collision was due to an error of judgement by the inner boats then it has acted correctly. If I was on the PC I'd be wary of saying there was enough room just because there was not a 3 way collision, I would hope there was more to their thinking than that!

As a general principle though if you have to hit someone (and its never a good idea to hit anyone, the definition of serious damage that can DSQ you can be as small as scratched paintwork if its a smart well painted boat and there's a serious bill to get the scratch refinished), hit the guilty party, not the innocent one. Easy to say after the event. Case 21 in the casebook is a good one to read on the subject.

http://www.sailing.org/rrs2005/casebook2006supplement.pdf

Edited by JimC
Back to Top
Strawberry View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 21 Jun 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1337
Post Options Post Options   Quote Strawberry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Apr 07 at 7:36pm

You are much more likely to win a protest if there is actual contact.

There are situations when it can be a good idea to let contact happen. ie. when two boats are parallel (paralell, parallell, i dunno) in a w/ward l/ward situation, or in this case, water at a mark.

But when its blowing its tit off, and two boats meet on opposite tacks, damage is imminent, and I would advise anyone to avoid contact!

Cherub 2649 "Dangerous Strawberry
Back to Top
Jack Sparrow View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 08 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2965
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jack Sparrow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Apr 07 at 9:07pm
Originally posted by JimC

If I was on the PC I'd be wary of saying there was enough room just because there was not a 3 way collision, I would hope there was more to their thinking than that!


Thing is this is what worries me...

It seems that after speaking to the protesting boats helm, that is what there decision was based on. They even came to the decision without calling the two witnesses, myself  and another helm who would of given evidence that the outside boat did not give enough romm.
Back to Top
Garry View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 18 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 536
Post Options Post Options   Quote Garry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Apr 07 at 9:15pm

Might be worth an appeal to the RYA if you're not outside the time limit.  What were the facts found?

Boat 2 was also entitled to call witnesses and the protest committee can't overrule that if the witnesses actually saw what happened (same goes for boat1 & 3 as well).



Edited by Garry
Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Apr 07 at 9:21pm
Originally posted by Jack Sparrow


They even came to the decision without calling the two witnesses.


Hang on there... they aren't the PCs witnesses, they are the party to the hearing's witnesses. If the PC hasn't allowed the party to have their witnesses heard then that sounds like a breach of rule 63.6. If the protesting helm wasn't allowed to call his witnesses he should ask for the hearing to be reopened (needs to be within 24 hours) and if its not reopened then appeal.


63.6 Taking Evidence and Finding Facts
The protest committee shall take the evidence of the parties to the hearing and of their witnesses...
Back to Top
Jack Sparrow View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 08 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2965
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jack Sparrow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Apr 07 at 9:24pm
Thanks Jim I will pass that on.
Back to Top
rogerd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 25 May 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1076
Post Options Post Options   Quote rogerd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Apr 07 at 8:28am
If it was windward mark dont the windward boat rules come into play?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy