Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Starboard windward mark port/starboard |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | ||
piglet ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Jan 07 Online Status: Offline Posts: 514 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 26 Apr 18 at 2:45pm |
|
P approaches windward mark on port tack, she must leave the mark to starboard then bear away to a wing mark. S approaches same mark on starboard tack where she must tack then bear away to the same wing mark. P is aware of S and has allowed adequate room for S to perform her tack & rounding. S forces P to tack before tacking herself. What obligations if any does S have to P, Can S sail P away from the mark?
|
||
![]() |
||
Presuming Ed ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Feb 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 641 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Assuming not match racing.
Yes. 18 doesn’t apply between boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward. (18.1.a). Pure P/S. P must keep clear (10). (S is constrained by 16.)
18.4 means that inside RoW boats can’t sail outside boats away from leeward/gybe marks.
Edited by Presuming Ed - 26 Apr 18 at 3:50pm |
||
![]() |
||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Take the mark away in situations like that so it becomes a simple port starboard. In fleet racing it may be beneficial to force a competitor to tack away before you tack for the mark.
S cannot tack directly in front of P either in such a way that P can no long keep clear (16.2 if memory serves, right of way boat changing course). |
||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||
![]() |
||
Wiclif ![]() Groupie ![]() ![]() Joined: 04 Oct 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 81 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
So to emphasise Jeffers comment, if you are P in this situation, you should slow down when you see this situation developing so you would nearly clip S’s transom. S can’t tack in front of you so you go round first.
This assumes that there are no other boats to complicate the situation. |
||
![]() |
||
ClubRacer ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
18 doesn't apply so therefore port starboard which would mean that S can sail P as far off the course as they want as there is no proper course restrictions
once S passes head to wind though its a different kettle of fish
|
||
![]() |
||
ClubRacer ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Like Wiclif said though, you need to anticipate early if you're P.
If 1 Ducked 2 inside the zone then when they both tacked would 1 have right of way over 2? ![]() https://imgur.com/a/wMDZdRP
Edited by ClubRacer - 26 Apr 18 at 8:00pm |
||
![]() |
||
ClubRacer ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
if you enter the zone and mark room rules are off can they ever switch on while you're inside the zone?
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Yes. Which boat is the right of way boat is not affected by being inside or outside the zone.
Yes. The most common way that mark-room is switched on is under rule 18.2( b ), which depends on a boat being overlapped or clear ahead when the first boat reaches the zone. Rule 18.2( a ), however does not depend on what happened at the zone boundary, and if rule 18.2 ( b ) (or rule 18.3 ) does not apply rule 18.2 ( a ) will. Looking at the third diagram above:
It would normally be dumb for #1 to tack inside #2 at this point. Her better tactic would be to stand on and put #2 about, then tack for the mark while #2 was tacking away.
|
||
![]() |
||
GML ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 24 Jul 11 Online Status: Offline Posts: 94 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Brass, are you sure that #1 would be exonerated for breaking rule 13 in the situation you describe? Whilst I agree that she is entitled to mark-room, I don't think that includes room to tack in the situation you describe (#1 is inside but to leeward of #2). (Is these a case or call on this?)
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
There has been some debate about this interpretation: RYA seems to think that in this circumstance B is taking 'room to tack' to which she is not entitled (see Definition of mark-room), and does not get exoneration. I disagree. I note that the the RYA has not issued an Appeal Case, nor has there been a TR Rapid Response Call, nor a WS Q&Q, so the 'taking room to tack' view doesn't seem to be all that popular among Racing Rules Committees, but bear in mind, as I commented above, the scenario should be uncommon in practice, as #1's best course is to put #2 about before tacking herself. See the lengthy discussion on racingrulesofsailing here |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |