New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Luffing rights - Proper Course - 2013 rule???
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Luffing rights - Proper Course - 2013 rule???

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
ds797 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Mar 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote ds797 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Luffing rights - Proper Course - 2013 rule???
    Posted: 16 Jun 13 at 12:34pm
Say 2 boats are on a reach (90 degrees to wind say), boat behind slightly faster wants to overtake boat in front. 

1) Can the boat behind overtake to leeward and luff the windward boat above the "proper course"?

2) If the boat behind passes to windward, can the leeward (boat being overtaken) luff above their "proper course"?

I think I know the answers, but won't write them here so as not to bias responses!  I think there were some subtle changes in the 2013 rules.

What does everyone here thing?

Thanks!
Back to Top
RS400atC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Dec 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3011
Post Options Post Options   Quote RS400atC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 13 at 3:21pm
I don't see the vertical bar in the margin which would indicate a change.

The key is that the overlap must start while the leeward boat is withing two hull lengths of the other for any restriction on proper course to apply.

And it is the leeward boat's proper course that matters, this may be much higher than the windward boat's, for instance if the leeward boat is asymmetric ....
http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/RRS20132016StudyVersion-%5B13380%5D.pdf
Back to Top
ds797 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Mar 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote ds797 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 13 at 4:00pm
Hi RS...... sorry thats confused me more than I was before.... please can you expand?
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 13 at 5:15pm
In answer to your original question,
 
1) Depends; YES, [In the absence of any other constraining factors] if the leeward overtaking boat established the overlap with a lateral seperation of more than 2 boat lengths* (*larger of the 2 boats if mixed handicap).
NO, if the separation was less than 2 boat lengths.
 
2)Yes.
 
As RS says, one boats 'proper course' can be very different to another boat.
Take a Laser 1 and an RS200 (Assymetric) sailing a dead downwind leg; the Laser would expect to sail much deeper than the RS200. It is the leeward boats 'proper course' which is the crux of the matter.
 
As others have said before, the key to understanding the rules is to first learn the definitions.
 
 
 
Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8956
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 13 at 5:38pm
Another quick question on the topic... If an overlap is established from behind, with no luffing rights (we shall assume the proper course of both boats is the same), and then the leeward boat gybes and then gybes back, does she then gain luffing rights, as she has become leeward boat through different means?

Also, if 2 boats go round the mark overlapped, and then both gybe, does the new leeward boat have luffing rights?
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
Back to Top
Lukepiewalker View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1341
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lukepiewalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 13 at 5:59pm
I would avoid using the phrase 'overtake'. It used to be in the rules, but isn't any longer (although it is in the appendix for 'Expression competition' in windsurfing).

17 says 'if a boat clear astern becomes overlapped withing two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped within that distance' which is the bit we are focusing on. So rather than overtaking, we are thinking of the rear boat being 'clear astern' in which case either boat can do what they like in terms course (subject to other boats and rule burden). Then we move to the state of being overlapped. If the boats are within two boat lengths (laterally) of each other then the proper course constraint applies as well as the 'room to keep clear' constraints. If you are further away (laterally) when the overlap is gained then you only have the 'room to keep clear' constraints.

If you overlap to windward from clear astern then the leeward boat only has the 'room to keep clear' constraints.

Or, to put it another way... what they said... LOL

As Andymac says, the definitions are the key to the rules
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
Back to Top
Lukepiewalker View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1341
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lukepiewalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 13 at 6:02pm
It would appear I took so long writing that someone wrote something else in between  LOL

The two gybes approach would indeed release you of the proper course obligations.

As to the mark rounding situation I would say that you would be allowed to luff above proper course, subject to the 'room to keep clear'

Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
Back to Top
andymck View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 15 Dec 06
Location: Stamford
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 397
Post Options Post Options   Quote andymck Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 13 at 6:05pm
As long as they are overlapped, and within 2 boat lengths laterally. Yes. Check the interpretation of gybing as well. A boat sailing by the lee may gybe and gybe back simultaneously due to top batten flicking accross and back again. 
I have seen a few breaks of 17 when going round a leeward mark they have got bow out and about a boat length and a half to leeward, having come from behind, they throw in a tack. Then call starboard. 17 says they have to go behind. Most seem to think it is rule 13 that is in force, even so, probably too close to tack.

Edited by andymck - 17 Jun 13 at 1:40am
Andy Mck
Back to Top
Lukepiewalker View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1341
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lukepiewalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 13 at 6:07pm
I should add the caveats about mark-room and all that sort of thing as well, I'll change it to:

As to the mark rounding situation I would say that you would be allowed to luff above proper course, subject to the 'room to keep clear' and any other rules in force relating to the mark rounding (Mark Room, that sort of thing)
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 13 at 9:20pm
Think I'll let Brass or Gordon deal with some of the wrongness here....too tired after some good sailing.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy