New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Can a call for room to tack be made
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Can a call for room to tack be made

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Fraggle View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 28 Feb 07
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 220
Post Options Post Options   Quote Fraggle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Can a call for room to tack be made
    Posted: 08 Aug 11 at 2:46pm
Scenario, 2 laser radials, close hauled both on port and overlapped.  Its handicap racing and we have to go through the gate each lap.  We're both approaching the committee boat end of the gate.  Boats are level with each other and the windward boat will make the gate, the leeward boat is aiming at the stern of the committee boat with no room to tack.
 
Is the leeward boat entitled to room to tack in this scenario or do they have to slow down/gybe round etc?
 
In this case the leeward boat managed to pinch enough to squeeze through without touching either the windward boat or the committee boat (millimetre clearance I reckon).  Just not sure on what the rules were with this scenario.
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Aug 11 at 3:22pm
Well,
its a mark of the course,
its on a beat to windward.
its large enough to be an obstruction.
So work through rules 18, 19 and 20.

To me
Rule 18 states that L is entitled to mark room and W is required to keep clear.
Rule 19 doesn't apply
Rule 20.3 states that L may not call W for room to tack.



Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8956
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 11 at 4:18pm
I'd agree with that. If L can squeeze through without tacking, then W has to give her room to do so. If she can't, tough. Should have planned the approach better.
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
Back to Top
Fraggle View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 28 Feb 07
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 220
Post Options Post Options   Quote Fraggle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Aug 11 at 9:26am
Cheers for the replies.  I was leeward boat and had never actually been in the scenario before and wasn't sure what my rights were.  Having asked other sailors after the race I still wasn't sure and wanted to know for future reference (hopefully won't get in the situation again).
 
As for planning it better, each previous lap tacks had been required to get through the gate from the leeward mark.  This time I rounded the mark with another radial and started working at undertaking him (he was tending to pinch).  I was slowly managing this when realised that tide/wind changes meant no tacks required and by this point I was stuck unless I slowed right down, gybed or squeezed through. 
Managed to squeeze through and completed the undertake once through the gate.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy