Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Tour de France a la Voile -Am I missing something? |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Author | ||||||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 04 Jul 13 at 2:18pm |
|||||
Whether we like it or not different cultures have different interpretations of the rules (I refer you to the current Lions tour as a perfect example).
We once had a discussion on this forum about rule 69. If I remember rightly the British view on that incident was that a rule 69 hearing was appropriate whilst the Australians preferred refrring the affair to the competitor's club. When judging in different countries one learns to accept this. From personal experience, in France, and especially on the M34 circuit, a broken bowsprit would not be considered serious damage as they all have a spare on shore and it takes little time to repair. So no need to retire. However, such damage would be physical damage that made a boat's score considerably worse, and therefore redress would be appropriate. |
||||||
Gordon
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
When we're having a discussion about the rules:
The Jury decisions are here Relevantly Case 7 (protest) and Case 8 (request for redress) were (translation my schoolboy french, can't blame Google this time)
Certainly the protest committee must (by necessary inference) have concluded that:
There is no point in speculating how the jury 'felt': we can only go on their published decision.
Thanks Gordon: helpful insight. There's also a discussion of levels of damage in the Match Racing context in a document attached at the end of Part E of the MR Umpires Manual
Appendix C6.5(c) permits the protest committee to decide the
penalty for breaking rule 14. This document explains how damage will be
assessed and gives guidance on the appropriate level of penalty. The protest
committee may still apply a different penalty if it has good reasons to do so.
There are a number of things we are trying to achieve with penalties for
damage: • Minimise damage to
keep costs down and avoid delays while boats are repaired. • Ensure that penalties
fit the breach. • Ensure there is no
advantage to well financed teams. • Avoid hearings,
especially at the later stages when spectator interest becomes hard to
maintain. • Provide consistent
penalties for damage So damage will be divided into 3 levels. Level
A - Minor Damage Less than 1 man-hour to fix Less than $US 100 cost Boat may race without repair Level
B - Significant Damage Less than 5 man-hours to fix Less than $US 1000 cost Boats may need some (temporary) work before racing again. Level
C - Major Damage More than 5 man-hours to fix More than $US 1000 Significant repair required before racing Each event should determine the appropriate cost level depending on
local circumstances and the event. Edited by Brass - 04 Jul 13 at 3:57pm |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
I think is rather brave commenting too much on jury decisions that are being made in french rather than english. Very hard to get all the nuances if you are not an active sailor speaking in the language being used, let alone if you are trying to understand what's going on from translations of varying quality.
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
flaming ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 04 Oct 11 Online Status: Offline Posts: 41 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Sorry, I'd have thought it clear that "they felt" was shorthand for "we can infer from what they ruled..."
Anyway, I was mainly surprised because I was involved in a similar incident a few years back (again a broken spinnaker pole) and the decision was to allow redress, but also to DSQ the offending boat, even though they had spun. I think Gordon probably has it right. Must remember not to retire if I ever cause damage in France! |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Jim C
Pour moi le fait que les décisions sont pris en français ne pose pas de problème, car je peut arbitrer aussi bien en français qu'en anglais... Which is not bad for someone who got an F at French O level. At a recent M34 event a boat broke her bowsprit but a one turn penalty was deemed sufficient. |
||||||
Gordon
|
||||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |