New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Oppostie Gybes, leeward Mark
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Oppostie Gybes, leeward Mark

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 678
Author
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Oppostie Gybes, leeward Mark
    Posted: 14 Jun 10 at 4:55am
Originally posted by asterix

Originally posted by The Moo

once you hit the Zone Rule 18 kicks in and the tack you are on becomes irrelevant

yep

Nope.

Under the 2009 rules 'overlap' between opposite tack boats does not require rule 18 to apply.

Boats overlap when neither is clear astern of the other and both boats are sailing more than ninety degrees from the true wind (Definition Clear Ahead and Clear Astern, Overlap).

Boats on opposite tacks sailing hot to a leeward mark will be overlapped most of the time.

Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 10 at 10:00pm
Port tack boats must keep clear of boats on starboard. In addition if starboard tack boat is overlapped on inside when one boat hits the zone, she must be given room.

However, as inside overlapped right of way boat Starboard must sail no further from the mark than her proper course before gybing (does not apply at a gate).

When asymetric boats arrive at leeward mark ther may be a huge difference in their course, which means that starboard boat may have overlap on large part of fleet.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 10 at 5:49pm
Originally posted by damp_freddie

the point I am trying to make is that the bow of the starboard boat is forward of almost any port boats transom line - true?

'xactly so...
Back to Top
damp_freddie View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 20 Oct 05
Location: Aruba
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 339
Post Options Post Options   Quote damp_freddie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 10 at 5:32pm
the point I am trying to make is that the bow of the starboard boat is forward of almost any port boats transom line - true?

It has always been a good tactic because outside the zone you have right of way and inside you are allowed room to gybe, meaning you can push quite a bit of space.

Phoenix and Pepsi were sigma 33s who would amaze the fleet with their wide angles  whilst most boats sailed as deep as they could:  but they did this to maybe get a couple of boat legnths by gybing on the lifts, but really they booked an aggressively good place at the rounding.
Back to Top
asterix View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 01 Aug 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 621
Post Options Post Options   Quote asterix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jun 10 at 9:15am

Originally posted by The Moo

once you hit the Zone Rule 18 kicks in and the tack you are on becomes irrelevant

yep

Back to Top
The Moo View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jun 06
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 809
Post Options Post Options   Quote The Moo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jun 10 at 1:32am
Surely once you hit the Zone Rule 18 kicks in and the tack you are on becomes irrelevant?

A port tack boat sailing clear ahead downwind does not have right of way over a starboard boat unless it has entered the zone.

Not 100% sure what you are getting at but Clear Astern, Clear Ahead and Overlap are defined in RRS: -

"One boat is clear astern of another when her hull and equipment in normal position are behind a line abeam from the aftermost point of the other boat's hull and equipment in the normal position. the other boat is clear ahead. They overlap when neither is clear astern. However they also overlap when a boat between them overlaps both."

Elvstrom might be good for table top plastic boats but for me Willis makes things seem much simpler.

Now can I go to bed?
Back to Top
damp_freddie View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 20 Oct 05
Location: Aruba
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 339
Post Options Post Options   Quote damp_freddie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 10 at 10:16pm
This was something I have honestly forgotten and is not clearly illustrated in Elvstrøm explains:
port rounding, leeward mark:I

One boat comes in on starboard while several boats are on port outside the zone at the same distance from the mark. Does the STB boat, if it maintains speed/ relative position on the port boats, have a default overlap on the port boats? Are all the transoms on the prt boats not giving stb overlap ?

Also, unlike on a beat to windward, a port boat clear ahead has rights over a stb boat:; but how do you establish this clear-ahed?


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 678

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy