Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
I14 Worlds Stitch-up |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 567 |
Author | |
Guest ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 21 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 20 Feb 05 at 7:01pm |
Chris 249 - I'm not Aussie bashing just saying that it is a funny outcome. None of us have all the facts it's just speculation but as the above post states no rules in part 2 seem to have been broken so it is a very VERY subjective call for the Jury. Depsite both boats being TEAM RMW I don't believe there was any team racing going on ... It will be interesting to hear the full story if it ever comes out ... Rick |
|
![]() |
|
Much FWB ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Feb 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 7 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
If that is what Al and Ian were doing in the final race then does a Rule 2
disqualification act as sufficient penalty or is there a case for opening a rule 69 hearing? Case 34: Hindering another boat may be a breach of rule 2 and the basis for action under Rule 69.1 I'm not sure of any other case where a Rule 2 protest has been won without a Part 2 rule being broken - Opens up quite a can of worms with regard IJs powers to influence boat tactics when part 2 rules are not being broken. Floodgates could well be opened here. Case 78: A boat does not break rule 2 by slowing another boats progress in a race, provided that this tactic is intended to benefit her own series result and that in using it she does not intentionally break a rule. That is where Ian's comment of saying that if they'd succeeded in dropping the Aussies down to 26 or whatever then they would not have been lobbed, despite the fact it may also have benefitted Steve and Ben. The Jury had to be convinced that at the time it was happening, Al and Ian were slowing the Bazzas down in order for the others to win. It isn't enough that the Jury, with the benefit of hindsight, considered their actions to have brought about this result. If the brits were trying to slow them down by nine minutes, and failed, but their intentions at the time were to try and slow them down by nine minutes, then the Jury is acting outside its scope and the decision is wrong. |
|
![]() |
|
Chris 249 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 10 May 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 2041 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Isn't it strange.....every time a Pom gets blown, then it's due a nasty rotten foreign type cheating and getting the protest committee to believe their story. Amazing..... Don't you think that perhaps a jury there at the time had more information and evidence on which to base their decision than you do? |
|
![]() |
|
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
remove xxx'x Currently I17 Spi [URLxxx=http://tinyurl.com/6kxxj] For sale[/xxxURL] |
|
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
AIUI what seems to have happened was that the second RMW team boat slowed down halfway up last beat, went and found the AUS boat and slapped a real tight team racing cover on them. They claimed they were doing this because if they managed to really take the AUS boat far enough down the fleet they could get an overall place off them. The Aussies claimed they were doing it because if the UK boat got them down to 14th or worst their team mates would win the Championships.
The Aussies protested (inter alia) under Rule 2, because you're not allowed to team race. Ruile two reads. "2 FAIR SAILING A boat and her owner shall compete in compliance with recognized principles of sportsmanship and fair play. A boat may be penalized under this rule only if it is clearly established that these principles have been violated. A disqualification under this rule shall not be excluded from the boat’s series score." The jury decided that they found it hard to believe that the UK boat sailing the Aus down the fleet was doing it to try and get an overall place off them because (1) they'd have had to slow them down by 8 minutes with only 9 minutes of the race left to do it and (2) there was someone ahead of them that they could (and they did) lose an overall place to while they were doing it so actually gain nothing. So the UK boat copped a DND - Disqualification none discardable. Controversial but not a totally unreasonable decision I think. OK, so now we come to the redress claim. Rule 62.1 reads in part:- 62.1 A request for redress or a protest committee’s decision to consider redress shall be based on a claim or possibility that a boat’s score in a race or series has, through no fault of her own, been made significantly worse by [snip] (d) a boat against which a penalty has been imposed under rule 2[snip] Given the jury had just found that the Aus boat had been sailed down the fleet illegally in breach of rule 2 then it was the correct decision to give them some kind of redress. They made a time/place estimate rather than give average points, which would have done the Aussies rather more good. That part of it is pretty much uncontroversial. It seems pretty certain that at that stage the only way the AUS guys could lose first overall was if someone sailed them down the fleet - and they then got sailed down the fleet by the winners' team mates who had stopped and waited for them in order to do it, and probably lost a place overall by doing so. It certainly would have looked suspicious! Edited by JimC |
|
![]() |
|
Guest ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 21 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Agreed - looks well fishy Rick PS How do you put a hyperlink in your signature? |
|
![]() |
|
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
from the link :
Would be interesting to find out what GBR1516 was charged with, if they broke the rules, they get binned, but how could you move AUS631 up to 10th(up 4 places). Don't understand this at all. |
|
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
|
![]() |
|
Guest ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 21 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
It will be interesting to hear the full story but on the face of it this seems like a funny outcome. http://www.takapunaboating.org.nz/Business/productsbusiness/ productFlash.htm Morrison lost the worlds through someone elses actions; seems very convienient for the aussie boat to sail round with Richardson and then protest ... regards, Rick |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 567 |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |