Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Starboard Rounding Windward Mark Incident |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 4567> |
Author | |||||
Quagers ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Oct 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 279 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 15 May 13 at 5:46pm |
||||
Ok new picture, is this what happened? Again the important point is the overlap when blue passes head to wind, even if thats subsequently broken again blue must thereafter give yellow mark room. If there is no overlap at that point yellow gets no room and must avoid. ![]() |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Quagers ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Oct 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 279 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
Sorry I should have been clearer, that was in relation to boats on the same tack based on the original description which is somewhat unclear.
The important point is if the overlap exists when Blue changes tack (ie. blue passes head to wind) if the overlap doesn't exist at that point the yellow has no room. However rereading the description it sounds like the overlap would have existed as blue passed head to wind.
Edited by Quagers - 15 May 13 at 5:39pm |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
OK Brass, I think I've got it: because B was *not* clear ahead when they reached the zone then 18.2a applies: the fact that the overlap wasn't established until they were in the zone doesn't matter: its a kind of double negative situation. Its not that A gains rights when an overlap is established, its a situation where for A not to have rights as inside boat they must have lost those rights by being clear behind. I think its logic that makes more sense in the protest room and on paper than on the water...
Maybe one should say that rights are dependant not on being overlapped at the zone, but on NOT being NOT overlapped. Rupert, the definition says that if you have to tack to get round the mark you aren't fetching it. Makes sense really! Quagers, unless I am much mistaken this situation of boats on opposite tacks on a beat is indeed one where the boats are neither overlapped nor clear astern and clear ahead! Edited by JimC - 15 May 13 at 5:28pm |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Quagers ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Oct 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 279 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
From your description this is what I'm imagining, the important point is if the overlap exists when blue reaches head to wind or not. ![]() In your description you seem to confuse important rules definitions, under the rules a pair of boats are either overlapped OR clear ahead and clear astern. You say they were to leeward but I take it that by that you mean they were just below your line because you later say you become overlapped. Edited by Quagers - 15 May 13 at 5:15pm |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Quagers ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Oct 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 279 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
Whether boats on opposite tacks/gybes are overlapped it irrelevant except for determining room at a leeward mark.< id="adlesse_unifier_magic_element_id" style="display:none;">
In this situation R18 doesnt turn on until both boats are on the same tack and one of them is within the zone. From what I've read of this situation, when these conditions are met the first boat is clear ahead. Therefore you didn't have mark room.
|
|||||
![]() |
|||||
alstorer ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 02 Aug 07 Location: Cambridge Online Status: Offline Posts: 2899 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
There's an interesting bit in the definitions- normally, boats upwind (less than 90° from the wind) cannot by definition be overlapped. However, it says
|
|||||
-_
Al |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
In what way was A not fetching the mark? B couldn't lay it on port, but I can't see where A can't lay it on starboard? Surely if a luff to avoid B involved hitting the mark, then all she had to do was tack to round it? Or is that where the trouble comes in, in that it is a tack to round to starboard, rather than a bear away to round to port, therefore she can't be "fetching" the mark, as a tack is required?
The 2nd half of 18b says "or prevent the other boat from passing the mark on the required side", which forcing A into the mark, does, with or with out a tack. |
|||||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
Spot on so far: rule 18 applies
B, on completing her tack was initially clear ahead, right of way boat (rule 12). A then became overlapped to windward and required to keep clear (rule 11), but A was overlapped inside B therefore Rule 18.2( a ) applied: A was entitled to mark-room.
No rule 18.2 ( a ) applies.
Yup. So there's nothing to switch off rule 18.2. Moral for B: Don't tack in the zone. |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
moomin ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 19 Jan 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 60 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
I'd read that boat A was entitled to room as follows: The only exception to rule 18.2 (a) is if the outside boat was clear ahead on reaching the zone 18.2 (b), at no point was boat B clear ahead. Given they were on opposite tacks on entering the zone, they were not clear ahead as the definition does not apply to boats on opposite tacks. The fact they were neither clear astern or overlapped is not important they do not fall under the defintion of clear ahead which is the only exception to 18.2 (a) |
|||||
Moomin
|
|||||
![]() |
|||||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||||
I'm not sure unfair or not really comes into it: the rules are there to control tactical options, not to provide fairness.
But lets look at my understanding... Lets call your boat A and the other boat B Initially boats were on opposite tacks, A is on starboard. Boats are not defined as overlapped because they are on opposite tacks and less than 90 degrees to the true wind. A has right of way. B tacks within the zone. She must keep clear until she is on a close hauled course. Did she? If you had to luff before B reached close hauled then B broke rule 13. Absent Section C B has gained ROW, but has acquired it because of her own actions so initially must give A room to keep clear. However Rule 18 should come into play. None of the exceptions in 18.1 seems applicable. Boats were not overlapped when the first entered the zone (definition). Neither Boat was clear ahead when they reached the zone because they were on opposite tacks (definition). So I'm a bit confused about how you can be neither overlapped nor clear astern/ahead, but therefore I don't think 18.2 applies. 18.3 doesn't apply because A was not fetching the mark. 18.4 doesn't apply of course. So I can find nothing in Rule 18 that actually applies to the situation, but I could easily be wrong. If I'm right neither boat is entitled to mark room, so if in keeping clear of B A touches the mark then that's bad luck: unless being forced to touch the mark somehow counts as not being given room to keep clear. That seems *very* unlikely to me. I suspect the best option for A is to dump the main and slow down behind B, who now cannot tack without fouling A. Easier said than done though. |
|||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 4567> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |