New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Starboard Rounding Windward Mark Incident
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Starboard Rounding Windward Mark Incident

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 7>
Author
RS400atC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Dec 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3011
Post Options Post Options   Quote RS400atC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Starboard Rounding Windward Mark Incident
    Posted: 16 May 13 at 9:56pm
Originally posted by Brass

Yes, rule 18, in its entirity does not apply to boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward (rule 18.1( a ))
 
Yes the tacking boat must keep clear in accordance with rule 13.
 
No, Rule 18 applies when two boats are on the same tack and at least one of them is in the zone.  If rule 18.2( b ) or 18.3 do not apply then rule 18.2( a ) applies:  a boat that becomes overlapped inside is entitled to mark-room.


I think to summarise where I was struggling to line up the words of the rule with what I thi#ought they meant:
1) Just because R18 does not apply while you are different tacks, that does not stop it applying once one boat has tacked in the zone.
Thanks Brass, it's only by challenging people like you to explain that I get any closer to fully understanding the rules.
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 13 at 10:47pm
I think the other thing that stops us getting this aspect of the rule and applying it to how things happen on the water is that in many cases where this might happen P would not put herself in this situation - as P in most cases I would either make the tack I needed early or go in to very high and slow mode, in order to be able to duck S, lay the mark and gain mark room under 18.3 (b), or, if S nailed the layline, make a better rounding.

Beyond that the other thing forgotten in this discussion until now is that in very many cases (especially if P's tack on to Starboard was close to the mark) Rule 18.2 (e) would apply, because having just completed her tack she would struggle to bear away to make a gap for a newly overlapped S, especially when you consider that on many boats the bear away will actually send the stern to windward.

It's important to note the difference of obligation between 18.2 (e) - in the situation in this question you must only give mark room if you can do, but that in 18.3 (b) you have an obligation to give room because you were the one that tacked.

Always a fun moment in team or fleet racing to bear away and then shoot the mark beneath a stopped "tacker in the zone".  Bold but effective!  Especially if you wish to induce shock!
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 May 13 at 9:07am
If P's tack is in the zone (or rather, if she passes head to wind in the zone and is then on the same tack as S) then 18.2 (including 18.2e) does not apply and 18.3 does.There is no get out clause for the tacking boat!
Gordon
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 May 13 at 10:32pm
Gordon,

I suspect you may not have read the scenario.  Neither boat is fetching the mark - so surely 18.3 does not apply.

I'd be interested for your read of the full situation.  I had to scratch my head.  As S I would not have jumped to the conclusion that I could get mark room (situation is a very rare one and as per my post above P has to be quite dumb to create the conditions) - but I am currently persuaded that not only could i prevent P tacking in my water, but that I would have mark room.
Back to Top
E.J. View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king


Joined: 19 Feb 06
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 184
Post Options Post Options   Quote E.J. Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 May 13 at 11:34pm
I have the same concerns as sargesail. I now understand that in this scenario I would be entitled to mark room but I fully expect to hear a cry of 'You didn't have an overlap a 3 boats' when I use it in battle, which will be technically true but irrelevant in this specific scenario. All logical, but I'm not sure I trust the rest of my club have invested the furled brow time that I have; I might chicken out of pushing the issue too hard when arguing with an octogenarian in a battered FF.

To sum up, clear and direct logic on forum Vs Tremulous ambiguity on water.
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 May 13 at 7:59am
Sargesail, you are right - I did not go back to read the scenario. I was reacting to later comments. Mea culpa. I will take my turns!

Rule 18 did not apply when the first boat entered the zone.

Rule 18 began to apply when both boats are on the same tack, which is when P passes head to wind.

P must:

- keep clear until she is on a close hauled course;
- when P does reach a close hauled course she becomes ROW and must initially give S room to keep clear;
- when S becomes overlapped to windward 18.2a applies and S is entitled to mark-room. As S is overlapped on the inside and to windward, mark-room includes room to tack.

Two points - 18.2b only applies when rule 18 applies as the first boat enters the zone. If 18 switches on when boats are already in the zone then 18.2a applies.

In this scenario P would have great difficulty in pleading that rule 18.2e applies. If the overlap is established whilst P is still tacking and at that moment she is unable to give mark-room it is probable that she was not keeping clear, and thus breaking rule 13.

If the overlap was established soon after P reached a close-hauled course and P claims that she could not give mark-room then it is probable that she had not initially given S room to keep clear
Gordon
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 May 13 at 1:55pm
In this scenario P would have great difficulty in pleading that rule 18.2e applies. If the overlap is established whilst P is still tacking and at that moment she is unable to give mark-room it is probable that she was not keeping clear, and thus breaking rule 13.

If the overlap was established soon after P reached a close-hauled course and P claims that she could not give mark-room then it is probable that she had not initially given S room to keep clear
[/QUOTE]

Hmmm - agree all the rest....but I can see circumstances with boats which are slow to accelerate where you could fulfill obligations under rule 13, but still be in a position where you can not give Mark Room.....I am replaying a sitaution like this in a Sea View Mermaid a few years ago.

Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 May 13 at 2:27pm
Originally posted by sargesail

but I can see circumstances with boats which are slow to accelerate where you could fulfill obligations under rule 13, but still be in a position where you can not give Mark Room


In which case you'd just have to do your turns like a gentleman wouldn't you... And if you pushed the other boat the wrong side of the mark so you gained a significant advantage then I suspect your only option would be to retire.

I think there are a number of places in the rules where its possible to get yourself in a situation that you can't get out of. I guess the lesson is that if you have to tack in the zone for whatever reason its wise to ensure there's enough room for any approaching boats to get between you and the mark.
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 May 13 at 5:22pm
But 18 e is designed to deal with this.  If S takes an overlap from which room can't be given even tho then P has no obligation to give the room.. Rule 10 and then rul3 13 she is KC....but she categorically does not have to consider S and the mark until S is overapped....and could take her chances in the room.....proving it would be more difficult.....and then getting the PC to understand teh nuance.  Which takes me back to the fact that P's tack is plain dumb!
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 May 13 at 3:57am
Terribly bad risk/reward ratio.
 
You talked above about 'struggling to bear away to give mark-room'.  I'd be wanting evidence that you put up a pretty damn good struggle:  main all the way out, tiller up, genny eased, weight down the boat.
 
As Gordon said, initially you are facing a rule 10, rule 13, rule 15 sequence of keep clear and give room obligations, close to the mark, so that your rule 15 obligation will include giving S room to not touch the mark, 'initially' while it applies.  Then, if:
  • you reach close hauled overlapped outside S, you owe mark-room, and your 'initial' rule 15 giving room obligation transitions seamlessly into a rule 18.2( a ) mark-room obligation.  You never have any instant when you can say you don't either owe keep clear, room to keep clear or mark-room.  You would have to explain to a protest committee (after persuading them that you had not already broken rules 10, 13 and 15) that while you were changing course from head to wind down to close hauled, you were then unable to continue bearing away to allow S her mark-room;  or
  • you reached close hauled clear ahead of S:  now, as long as S doesn't become overlapped too soon, and you comply with your 'initial' rule 15 obligation to give room to keep clear, you will get a few seconds as right of way clear ahead boat, when you 'don't have to anticipate':  during this time you better not come up and close the door, even a little bit, otherwise you will bring on rule 16.1, and once again your room to keep clear obligation will include giving room not to touch the mark.

On a protest committee, I'd be asking myself (and you) if you had such excellent judgement and boat handling to judge and execute the tack into clear ahead with inches to spare, then how come those skills deserted you 10 feet later when it came to bearing away at the mark?

I suspect that 4 out of 5 protest committees will bang you for rule 13 in the first place, and 9 out of 10 umpires will penalise you for not doing all you could to give mark-room.
 
At the very least, if it happened, you would be wise to do a couple of 'insurance turns'.
 
Next problem, however, is, if you force S the wrong side of the mark, you might have gained a significant advantage, so that even two turns aren't enough and you are lucky to cop a DSQ instead of a DNE for deliberately breaking a rule.
 
Bottom line:  you're absolutely right:  don't tack in the zone.


Edited by Brass - 27 May 13 at 9:47am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 7>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy