| Bruce Roberts classic 45 Valencia, Spain |
![]() |
| Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
| Free mast for Merlin Rocket - has a bend! Guildford |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Water a the mark protest |
Post Reply
|
Page <12 |
| Author | |||
mike ellis
Really should get out more
Joined: 30 Dec 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2339 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Topic: Water a the mark protestPosted: 30 Apr 07 at 4:06pm |
||
|
no, i think that only applies at leeward mark. port and starboard apply at windward mark but not windward leeward. i think, i hope, please correct me if im wrong. Edited by mike ellis |
|||
|
600 732, will call it Sticks and Stones when i get round to it.
Also International 14, 1318 |
|||
![]() |
|||
Scooby_simon
Really should get out more
Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 30 Apr 07 at 4:57pm |
||
|
2 boat lengths applies - Ergo don't tack inside it. W/L boat also applies |
|||
|
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
|||
![]() |
|||
redback
Really should get out more
Joined: 16 Mar 04 Location: Tunbridge Wells Online Status: Offline Posts: 1502 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 30 Apr 07 at 11:38pm |
||
|
Assuming the mark is soft I feel the inside boat should have hit the mark rather than hit the boat outside. Certainly damage should not be caused when boats are parallel. You only need your bouancy aid or tiller extension to touch the outside boat to make a point and this is what boat 2 should have done to boat 3.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
JimC
Really should get out more
Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 01 May 07 at 12:03am |
||
And then you seriously risk get disqualified under Rule 2 - Fair Sailing. Read Case 73 in the ISAF casebook. |
|||
![]() |
|||
John Wilson
Newbie
Joined: 04 Oct 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 26 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 01 May 07 at 1:05am |
||
If you're looking at 73, you should probably look at 74 as well then! I was presuming redback meant it more in the 74 way than the 73. |
|||
![]() |
|||
Scooby_simon
Really should get out more
Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 01 May 07 at 8:01am |
||
|
Are the cases on-line anywhere ? Went to look up 73 and 74 and cannot find my book I assume 73 is the "leaning back with arms on trapeze and touching/hitting the shroud; not normal sailing position" case ? |
|||
|
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Stefan Lloyd
Really should get out more
Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 01 May 07 at 8:55am |
||
|
If you dig around on the ISAF website, the case histories are available as a large PDF file. |
|||
![]() |
|||
Garry
Really should get out more
Joined: 18 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 536 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 04 May 07 at 7:20pm |
||
|
There RYA case book can be downloaded from the racing section of the RYA website
|
|||
|
Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298 www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk |
|||
![]() |
|||
Calum_Reid
Groupie
Joined: 09 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 59 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 05 May 07 at 8:42pm |
||
|
give me a while to play with TSS and il write my view from an umpires position.
|
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Calum_Reid
Groupie
Joined: 09 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 59 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 05 May 07 at 9:50pm |
||
|
I assume you mean a situation like this:
If so then: - the rules that apply up until 2 boat lengths depend on how the overlaps were established. (I'm guessing that the case is that green came from behind to overlap to windward of yellow and grey the same to boat 2.) - If my assumption is correct then rule 11 and 16 apply. - Once 2 boat lengths is reached then rule 18 applies - Rule 18.2(a) applies as does 18.2(d) which means rule 16 does not - Therefore as soon as yellow luffs to round the mark green must immediately do so and so must grey to avoid green - Yellow should protest green for not keeping clear and green should protest grey to follow the room at a mark rules fully - The fact that the contact was between yellow and green i assume was because when boat 1 luffed to get around the mark then green decided he couldn't luff aggressively because of grey - Therefore green broke rule 18.2 and grey broke rule 18.2 green would be exonerated under 18.2(e) and 14 as he made an attempt to avoid contact. - I will email it to a few more senior umpires but they may be a little busy at the moment with that little competition in Valencia. Edited by Calum_Reid |
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Post Reply
|
Page <12 |
| Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |