Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
What constitutes a mark rounding? |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123> |
Author | ||
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 29 Mar 06 at 12:26pm |
|
If the mast is in the water, they have more to worry about than the course.! My point is that I'd be inclined to protest if someone flew a flew a hull over a mark, but the plate was still in the mater, however if the plate was also out i'd give them a If a keel boat (or any other boat wants to round a mark with the mast over the top of it, I'm not worried. |
||
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
||
![]() |
||
Matt Jackson ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 21 Sep 04 Location: Darlington Online Status: Offline Posts: 962 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Well obviously. Different case to a cat... do try to keep up For the record I don't think this has any practical application, I'm just interested. If you were racing against a Tri and they put a float the 'wrong' side of the mark would anyone happily let them on their way? Edited by Matt Jackson |
||
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36
|
||
![]() |
||
far canal ![]() Posting king ![]() ![]() Joined: 01 Feb 06 Location: Micronesia Online Status: Offline Posts: 110 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
not really , cats are meant to sail at optimum with windward hull "Normally " "just " out the water . When doing wild thing offwind sometimes it pays to lift win ward hull pretty high and with no board down either . got a rudder though ! Scoobys scenario - if plate was in the water - but other side of mark (pretty small one ) I would agree , not rounding , but going over ! As for letting anyone do it otherwise , I have no problems , i doubt there is anything in the rules to stop them anyway , adds colour to the occaison and good photo ops .
Better to concentrate on race rather than antics Edited by far canal |
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
If you really want a complicated situation imagine a cat that misjudges the run up to the mark and lifts the windward hull to clear the mark, and the rig then hits an outside/leeward boat. The helm of inside dumps the main and the windward hull hits the mark.
Its agreed by both parties that if the cat had approached the mark with both hulls in the water and far enough out not to hit the mark then outside had left enough room for inside to get round the mark. Who does how many circles and why? |
||
![]() |
||
Matt Jackson ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 21 Sep 04 Location: Darlington Online Status: Offline Posts: 962 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Whatever |
||
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36
|
||
![]() |
||
catmandoo ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 16 Mar 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 545 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
ISAF Racing Rules Question and Answer Service D 003 Q&A 2009-014Published: 09 January 2009 Question A catamaran on port tack approaches a leeward mark to be left to port. Does a catamaran that "flies" its port (windward) hull over, and possibly to windward of, a leeward mark comply with the requirements of rule 28.1 in relation to that mark rounding? The starboard hull is the only hull in the water (creating a track) and this hull passes the mark correctly. Answer Yes. |
||
|
||
![]() |
||
Andymac ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Apr 07 Location: Derbyshire Online Status: Offline Posts: 852 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Blimey, 6 1/2 years for a definitive answer!
Well done for the update Catmandoo.
|
||
![]() |
||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
However.... consider rule 44.2... when a boat takes a penalty at or near the finishing line, she shall sail completely to the course side of the line before finishing. In this particular instance you cannot fly a hull, or any part of the hull, equipment or crew over the mark!
|
||
Gordon
|
||
![]() |
||
catmandoo ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 16 Mar 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 545 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Ah but thats a completely different scenario and not in question , however i would take from the above isaf clarification , that once you had satisfied the requirement of " completly returned to the course side of the finish line "
you could. THEN finish correctly if your subsequent finishing involved flying a hull over the mark , in fact does it even matter how you return "completely"to the course side of the line , as wether you flew a hull over the line on the way back is immaterial as once "completely" on course side of the line , Just dont spin round ends on one hull So get "completely " course side. Then approach again flying a hull as high as you can , after all its what us cats like best ![]() Raises question , does hitting the ro with your board constitute hitting a mark ,or bad etiquette
Edited by catmandoo - 30 Aug 12 at 9:58am |
||
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
That's easy: its a gross breach of good manners, hence RRS69 [grin] |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |