New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Starboard Rounding Windward Mark Incident
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Starboard Rounding Windward Mark Incident

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 7>
Author
Quagers View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 24 Oct 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 279
Post Options Post Options   Quote Quagers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Starboard Rounding Windward Mark Incident
    Posted: 15 May 13 at 5:37pm
Sorry I should have been clearer, that was in relation to boats on the same tack based on the original description which is somewhat unclear.

The important point is if the overlap exists when Blue changes tack (ie. blue passes head to wind) if the overlap doesn't exist at that point the yellow has no room. However rereading the description it sounds like the overlap would have existed as blue passed head to wind.


Edited by Quagers - 15 May 13 at 5:39pm
Back to Top
Quagers View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 24 Oct 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 279
Post Options Post Options   Quote Quagers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 13 at 5:46pm
Ok new picture, is this what happened?

Again the important point is the overlap when blue passes head to wind, even if thats subsequently broken again blue must thereafter give yellow mark room.

If there is no overlap at that point yellow gets no room and must avoid.
< id="adlesse_unifier_magic_element_id" style="display:none;">

Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 13 at 11:07pm
Originally posted by alstorer

There's an interesting bit in the definitions- the terms [Cleaer Astern, Clear Ahead and Overlap] always apply to boats on the same tack normally, boats on opposite tacks upwind (less than 90° from the wind) cannot by definition be overlapped. However, it says

unless rule 18 applies

but rule 18 starts by saying that it doesn't apply between boats on the opposite tack.
Could it be possible that boat A automatically has overlap on B until B tacks (inside the zone) but that it is not something that can be taken into consideration until that tack occurs?
Apart from turning the definition upside down, you missed a very important condition of the definition of 'overlapped' that I have reinserted for you.
 
Your speculation is unnecessary.
 
Rule 18 does not apply to boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward (rule 18.1( a )) and boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward, that is, until the other boat passes head to wind are by definition, not overlapped.
 
OP said
[Other boat] tacked onto starboard less than a boat length clear ahead and slightly to leeward of us within the 3 boat length zone. Being the windward boat we started to keep clear by luffing but in doing so gained an overlap
Because OP said 'we started to keep clear' I take it that he meant that the other boat reached her close hauled course clear ahead and OP was obliged to keep clear under rule 12.  The boats could have become overlapped any time after other boat passed head to wind making both on the same tack, but the geometry is unlikely:  most likely other boat was clear ahead from the time she passed head to wind.
 
Next thing that happened was OP became overlapped to windward inside the other boat, in the zone, so the condition for rule 18.2( a ) was fulfilled.


Edited by Brass - 15 May 13 at 11:07pm
Back to Top
Quagers View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 24 Oct 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 279
Post Options Post Options   Quote Quagers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 13 at 11:14pm
It's quite possible though that even though the boat ended up to leeward clear ahead, an overlap did exist when port passed head to wind and was subsequently broken as the bore off. 

Its not something OP would necessary notice because its not something people look for but is what this protest would hinge on in the room.
< id="adlesse_unifier_magic_element_id" style="display:none;">

Edited by Quagers - 15 May 13 at 11:14pm
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 13 at 11:22pm
Originally posted by Quagers

Whether boats on opposite tacks/gybes are overlapped it irrelevant except for determining room at a leeward mark.
 
No, its a fundamental condition for rule 18.2( a ), which applies whenever rule 18 applies and rules 18.2( b ) or 18.3 do not, regardless of whether the mark is to windward or to leeward (bearing in mind that the rules never talk about windward or leeward marks:  they talk about boats sailing 'upwind' or 'downwind')
 
In this situation R18 doesnt turn on until both boats are on the same tack and one of them is within the zone.
 
Correct
 
From what I've read of this situation, when these conditions are met the first boat is clear ahead. Therefore you didn't have mark room.
 
Correct at that instant
 
But when OP becomes overlapped to windward inside, he becomes entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2( a ).
 
 
Originally posted by Quagers

Sorry I should have been clearer, that was in relation to boats on the same tack based on the original description which is somewhat unclear.

The important point is if the overlap exists when Blue changes tack (ie. blue passes head to wind)
 
if the overlap doesn't exist at that point the yellow has no room.
 
See above.  If there's no overlap, rule 18.2( a ) doesn't apply, but it does apply once boats become overlapped.
 
However rereading the description it sounds like the overlap would have existed as blue passed head to wind.
 
My take from the OP description is that the other boat completed her tack clear ahead, in which case, I think the geometry woudl be that she was and remained clear ahead from the time she passed head to wind until OP subsequently became overlapped inside.


Edited by Brass - 16 May 13 at 1:15am
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 13 at 11:49pm
Originally posted by JimC

OK Brass, I think I've got it: because B was *not* clear ahead when they reached the zone then 18.2a applies:  the fact that the overlap wasn't established until they were in the zone doesn't matter: its a kind of double negative situation.
 
Mmmm,  the fact that they were neither overlapped nor clear ahead/astern on reaching the zone means that rule 18.2( b ) does not apply.
 
Rule 18.2( a ) applies because rule 18 as a whole appplies (boats on same tack one in the zone) and rule 18.2( b ) and rule 18.3 do not.
 
Its not that A gains rights when an overlap is established,
 
No, once both boats are on the same tack, becoming overlapped is the very thing that does give the inside boat an entitlement to mark-room.
 
its a situation where for A not to have rights as inside boat they must have lost those rights by being clear behind.
 
Rule 18.2( b ) gives a special sort of mark-room that we might call 'permanent' mark-room that doesn't change or disappear while ever rule 18 applies, regardless of overlap, inside, outside, or right of way.
 
Rule 18.2 ( a ) gives what we might call 'temporary' mark-room to whichever boat is overlapped inside, which can disappear when boats become clear ahead/astern and change when a different boat becomes overlapped inside.
 
In this scenario, although rule 18 applied from the instant B (other boat) came onto the same tack as A, when she passed head to wind, A (OP) had no entitlement to mark-room while she was clear astern, but she became entitled to mark-room when she became overlapped inside.
 
I think its logic that makes more sense in the protest room and on paper than on the water...
 
I don't think the logic is too difficult once you grasp the idea that rule 18.2( b ) will apply in the vast majority of cases, and will give the high quality 'permanent' mark-room, but in exeptional cases where rule 18 only switches on in the zone, the inside overlapped boat gets the low quality 'temporary' mark-room.
 
Maybe one should say that rights are dependant not on being overlapped at the zone, but on NOT being NOT overlapped.
 
I think rather they depend on rule 18 applying and rule 18.2( b ) not applying (because boats were neither overlapped nor clear ahead/astern on reaching the zone). 

Rupert, the definition says that if you have to tack to get round the mark you aren't fetching it. Makes sense really!
 
Yes.  Thank you.

Quagers, unless I am much mistaken this situation of boats on opposite tacks on a beat is indeed one where the boats are neither overlapped nor clear astern and clear ahead!
 
Yes.
 
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 13 at 12:03am
Originally posted by Quagers

It's quite possible though that even though the boat ended up to leeward clear ahead, an overlap did exist when port passed head to wind and was subsequently broken as the bore off. 
 
OK, so that's pretty much your second diagram.
 
In that case, B, in addition to being required to keep clear under rule 13, owes A mark-room under rule 18.2( a ) from the time she passes head to wind and becomes same tack overlapped on A, until her transom line swings clear ahead of A, at which point, if she has not yet reached her close hauled course, she remains obliged to keep clear of A (rule 13), but ceases to be obliged to give mark-room.  Once she reaches her close hauled course clear ahead of A, she becomes the right of way boat (rule 12) with no mark-room obligation.
 
Then, when A becomes overlapped to windward inside, A once again gets rule 18.2( a ) entitlement to mark-room.
 
Its not something OP would necessary notice because its not something people look for but is what this protest would hinge on in the room.
 
I don't think it's a crucial issue at all.
 
As far as I can see, there is no question that from the time B passes head to wind until she reaches her close hauled course clear ahead of A, B is keeping clear and giving mark-room.


Edited by Brass - 16 May 13 at 12:34am
Back to Top
Marcus View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 May 13
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote Marcus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 13 at 11:02am
Interesting discussion and thanks for all the comments. I was a little inaccurate in my original description in stating that B tacked clear ahead and to leeward of us; what I should have said was that they completed their tack clear ahead onto a close hauled starboard tack course that was to leeward of our own. We then started to luff to keep clear and in doing so gained the overlap. The first of Quagers two diagrams is therefore correct. I take it that Rule 18.2 (a) together with the definition of Mark Room then should allow me to firstly pass to port of the mark unhindered and then to tack onto port to round it?
 
Actually, as I said in my original description I took a penalty because I was uncertain that Rule 18.2 (a) switched on since we acquired the overlap within the zone. In a very reasonable discussion with A after the race we agreed that we were both uncertain. On reading the rules aftewards we thought the incident had some similarity to the that covered by Rule 18.3 but this rule didn't apply of course because we, A, weren't fetching the mark.
 
As Jim originally suggested we could alternatively have slowed down rather than luffing. B would then have had room but wouldn't be able to tack back onto starboard anyway. The end result would be the same either way, we, A, would end up rounding the mark first. However, as Jim points out it's sometimes hard to think these things through in the heat of the moment!
 
Ultimately, is the moral, as Brass suggests, be careful when tacking in the zone?
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 13 at 11:15am
Yeah, brass, who is very good on this rules stuff, has clarified the situation to my satisfaction: what we have here is a situation where you can establish an overlap in the zone and still be entitled to mark room because the other boat tacked in the zone.

I suppose the casual sailors understanding of this might be that you should reckon that if you tack in the zone you have very few rights.
Back to Top
RS400atC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Dec 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3011
Post Options Post Options   Quote RS400atC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 13 at 1:25pm
Is it not the whole of rule 18 that does not apply between boats on opposite tacks?
 
The boat which tacks onto STBD must keep clear until she is past head to wind, thereafter she must give the other boat room to keep clear.
 
As I read it though, the inside boat has no specific right to room at the mark.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 7>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy