| Free mast for Merlin Rocket - has a bend! Guildford |
![]() |
| Bruce Roberts classic 45 Valencia, Spain |
![]() |
| Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Rocking & Rolling |
Post Reply
|
Page 123> |
| Author | ||
Sam.Spoons
Really should get out more
Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3401 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Topic: Rocking & RollingPosted: 07 Aug 22 at 5:33pm |
|
|
Rule 42.2 prohibits rocking and pumping but 42.3 allows rocking 'to facilitate steering' and pumping to 'initiate surfing' (all amongst other things. If I'm sailing on a broad reach can I roll the boat to windward to steer down a wave while sheeting in to accommodate the change in apparent wind the resulting acceleration without breaking 42.2 or can I only pump the sail without rolling the boat?
Edited by Sam.Spoons - 07 Aug 22 at 5:35pm |
||
|
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
||
![]() |
||
JimC
Really should get out more
Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 07 Aug 22 at 5:36pm |
|
|
Probably good to do some intensive reading from here:-
https://site-isaf.soticcloud.net/raceofficials/rule42/index.php Edited by JimC - 07 Aug 22 at 5:37pm |
||
![]() |
||
Sam.Spoons
Really should get out more
Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3401 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 08 Aug 22 at 3:27pm |
|
|
Thanks Jim, I'm still not sure if simultaneously rolling to windward and sheeting in to promote surfing is prohibited or not. I think it is permitted as the interpretations for rule 42.2 'rocking' says "One roll that does not clearly propel the boat is permitted." and if I'm pumping as well it can't be clear whether the roll, the pump or the wave is what is propelling the boat.
It may be that the Finn specific "Common Breaches By Class" would make it clearer but I'm getting a server error when I click the link.
Edited by Sam.Spoons - 08 Aug 22 at 3:30pm |
||
|
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
||
![]() |
||
Sam.Spoons
Really should get out more
Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3401 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 08 Aug 22 at 3:45pm |
|
|
Also in marginal conditions how long does the boat have to surf for for an attempt to count as successful or not?
|
||
|
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
||
![]() |
||
Mozzy
Far too distracted from work
Joined: 21 Apr 20 Online Status: Offline Posts: 209 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 08 Aug 22 at 4:22pm |
|
|
When surfing I think the roll's should be to facilitate changes of direction and the pump to promote surfing. The two might happen simultaneously, but they don't have to.
You can roll each time you change direction that's fine (as long as the changes in direction are required and not fabricated to allow more rolling). Pumping you can only do each time you surf. You can pump in isolation to any rolling, but it's to initiate panning or surf.
Obviously, if you are changing direction, and also speeding up / slowing down, then there will be some 'trimming' of sails in that mix too. |
||
![]() |
||
Sam.Spoons
Really should get out more
Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3401 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 09 Aug 22 at 8:11am |
|
The thing is, I sail/race at an informal club during the summer and don't want to gain an advantage in a dubious manner
|
||
|
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
||
![]() |
||
Brass
Really should get out more
Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 09 Aug 22 at 8:58am |
|
|
Pumping, rocking, and sculling are all defined in rule 42.2 as repeated action.
A single pump or single roll is not 'pumping or 'rocking'. As long as it does not clearly propel the boat (in any direction) (Rule 42 Interpretations BASIC 4) it is permitted. I can't see any reason why a combination of roll and single pump should be treated differently from each alone, except maybe, both together might actually 'clearly propel' the boat, when either alone might not do so clearly. Bear in mind that a lot of rule 42 breaches are detected when boats are close together and one suddenly jumps ahead of another. Really, advantageous manoeuvre of a boat by skilful use of legal kinetics should be applauded, not criticised. Edited by Brass - 09 Aug 22 at 9:01am |
||
![]() |
||
Sam.Spoons
Really should get out more
Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3401 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 09 Aug 22 at 10:54am |
|
![]() |
||
|
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
||
![]() |
||
Brass
Really should get out more
Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 09 Aug 22 at 11:23am |
|
Now all you have to do is sell that at your informal club, and you'll get a big hand. |
||
![]() |
||
JimC
Really should get out more
Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 09 Aug 22 at 12:04pm |
|
|
As I've said before, I think its a shame that subtle skilful kinetics are banned. However the unsubtle less skilful violent kinetics are rather more effective, and I'm not smart enough to think of a way to permit the first and ban the second.
|
||
![]() |
||
Post Reply
|
Page 123> |
| Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |