Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
not sure about this one |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Author | ||
Crafty ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 09 Aug 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 11 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 21 Jun 07 at 11:49am |
|
At a recent laser event i was at i was confused by this as well, ( water after the mark ) We were still in the two boat length and rounded the mark, i had a better mark rounding than him and was just higher than him but behind He decided to tack and i just nicked the back of his boat, i did not have time to react to avoid his boat ( i was also on starboard ) Who was in the wrong ? Edited by Crafty |
||
Laser Radial/4.7 144929
|
||
![]() |
||
rogerd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 25 May 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1076 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Very difficult to analyse specific incidents without the actual info the PC would have - drawing and most especially both parties' version of events.
1) Were the boats overlapped during the mark rounding? 2) If so who was inside 3) What rounding was it, reach to beat, run to beat, beat to run or what? 4) was it necessary to tack to complete the rounding, or was it optional and he could have reasonably gone off on either tack 5) Had you both completed the mark rounding - ie were on your best course for the next mark. Remember 2BL isn't relevant here. |
||
![]() |
||
Crafty ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 09 Aug 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 11 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
the boats were not overlapped during the mark rounding it was a run to a beat, it was optional to round the mark yes we had completed the the mark rounding and starting the beat |
||
Laser Radial/4.7 144929
|
||
![]() |
||
mike ellis ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 30 Dec 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2339 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
sounds like he was tacking in your water putting him in the wrong.
|
||
600 732, will call it Sticks and Stones when i get round to it.
Also International 14, 1318 |
||
![]() |
||
The Moo ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 01 Jun 06 Online Status: Offline Posts: 809 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Presmably if the mark had been rounded and left astern Rule 18 does not apply and other When Boats Meet Rules do?
|
||
![]() |
||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I would agree with Roger that he cal luff but not tack 9but in doing so he has to give sufficient time and opportunity to react.
I was involved in a protest at the Blaze nats over something very similar (the PC decided the other boat breached 16.1 so i won). I would call it as 16.1, any other thoughts? Obviously we are just going on what we can see in our minds eye.... |
||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |