New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Cat startline
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Cat startline

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Guests View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Cat startline
    Posted: 16 Jun 09 at 3:45pm
Sunday gone on the start line for the cat fleet, one cat ran directly over the pin end with one hull crossing the line leaving the other hull outside of the line...... So if only half the boat crossed the starline, has he started or not?? 

Doug H
Back to Top
Neptune View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 08 Jun 09
Location: Berkshire United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1314
Post Options Post Options   Quote Neptune Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 09 at 3:54pm

I would say if the hull/ appendage outside the line wasn't touching the water and they didn;t touch the buoy that would be a good start!

Imagine if you passed a mark trapezing and your body went above the mark so long as you don't touch it its ok.

Back to Top
alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 07
Location: Cambridge
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2899
Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 09 at 4:51pm
There's bound to be something in the case book or judges manual, but I think Neptune's interpretation is correct- as long as everything that's actually in the water (including the tips of boards/rudders, trailing ropes and/or crews etc) passes to the correct side of the mark, then the rest can cheerfully "pass" on the "wrong" side- beyond the actual physical marker itself, a mark does not project upwards- the course is 2D. Massive regatta marks will tend to negate this from occurring.

If they pass over it with both hulls in the water (tiny mark to not hit it!) or even with a daggerboard or rudder tip still in the water (port tack start here) they're in the wrong, and haven't passed it.
-_
Al
Back to Top
Scooby_simon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote Scooby_simon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 09 at 5:37pm

Use the string rule.  Did the line made by the WAKE follow the course.  If a hull was flying when you sailed over the mark and so the wake does not go the "wrong side" then I'd say you are OK.

 

If the boat simply sails over the mark with both hulls in (and thus touches the mark) then you are out!

Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
Back to Top
Guests View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 09 at 10:35pm
Both hulls were in the water.
Back to Top
craiggo View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1810
Post Options Post Options   Quote craiggo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 09 at 10:51pm
If both hulls were in the water then someone should have protested him out of it!

Even if he'd been flying a hull he would have to have had both the daggerboard and rudder out of the water for it to be ok.

SO he should have gone back an re-started.




Edited by craiggo
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 09 at 12:39am

Originally posted by alstorer

There's bound to be something in the case book or judges manual, but I think Neptune's interpretation is correct- as long as everything that's actually in the water (including the tips of boards/rudders, trailing ropes and/or crews etc) passes to the correct side of the mark, then the rest can cheerfully "pass" on the "wrong" side- beyond the actual physical marker itself, a mark does not project upwards- the course is 2D. Massive regatta marks will tend to negate this from occurring.

If they pass over it with both hulls in the water (tiny mark to not hit it!) or even with a daggerboard or rudder tip still in the water (port tack start here) they're in the wrong, and haven't passed it.

There is.  Q&A 2009-014.

Question

A catamaran on port tack approaches a leeward mark to be left to port. Does a catamaran that "flies" its port (windward) hull over, and possibly to windward of, a leeward mark comply with the requirements of rule 28.1 in relation to that mark rounding? The starboard hull is the only hull in the water (creating a track) and this hull passes the mark correctly.

Answer

Yes.

http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/QA2009014-[6756].pdf

Originally posted by Scooby_simon

Use the string rule.  Did the line made by the WAKE follow the course.  If a hull was flying when you sailed over the mark and so the wake does not go the "wrong side" then I'd say you are OK.

Rule 28.1 has changed to refer to the TRACK of a boat, not the wake.

I think that the Q&A makes it clear that even if you took the 'track' to be the path of the centreline, it would still be OK.

Back to Top
Scooby_simon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote Scooby_simon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 09 at 2:16am
Originally posted by Brass

Originally posted by Scooby_simon

Use the string rule.  Did the line made by the WAKE follow the course.  If a hull was flying when you sailed over the mark and so the wake does not go the "wrong side" then I'd say you are OK.

Rule 28.1 has changed to refer to the TRACK of a boat, not the wake.

I think that the Q&A makes it clear that even if you took the 'track' to be the path of the centreline, it would still be OK.

Very good point, I'd forgottrn that.

Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy