Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Finish line |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123> |
Author | |
Garry ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 18 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 536 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 18 Oct 06 at 7:13pm |
The definition of finishing is quiet clear and unless you have specified something diferent in the SIs then there is no requirement to go round the ends or continue to sail on over the line and I can't see how any protest committee could determine you hadn't finished correctly if you ducked back over the line without clearing it. If however you then sailed back on starboard and called starboard on someone still racing you would probably infringe rule 22 (which applies after you have finished). But if in sailing back you have to avoid a navigational hazard and caused a boat still racing to avoid you then there is nothing for them to protest about assuming you have complied with the IRPCS. Rule 22 says something like deliberate and interfere with...
|
|
Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298 www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk |
|
![]() |
|
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Once upon a time your complete boat had to cross the line for you to have finished, so for instance if you started paddling after the gun but before you had crossed completely, you would be disqualified. That seems to have changed, but I'm not sure why? Are you allowed to hit the ODM after you have been finished, but before you have cleared the line? Round the ends is in sailing instructions, not the rules, or people sailing on narrow rivers would have to drag the boats out onto the bank! The rules of sportsmanship must come into play when clearing the line, and they carry the heaviest penalties of all. |
|
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|
![]() |
|
Guests ![]() Guest Group ![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Boat on boat situations resulting in penalties are still valid unless the boats in the situation have their transoms clear of the line. |
|
![]() |
|
Garry ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 18 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 536 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
True and if you hit the ODM before clearing the line you have to take the penalty and then recross from the correct side. The requirement for the complete boat to cross the line hasn't been in the rules for years. |
|
Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298 www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I am not sure if "clearing the line" is as simple and as clear cut as getting the transom clear of the line. Firstly this doesn't cover situations where the transom never crosses the line.
The rules gives no clear definition of "clearing the line" In the logic of the rules this tends to mean that the rule should be interpreted in light of the circumstances pertaining at the time - in the same way as in rule 18 where the notion of "about to round a mark" can vary widely. I have not found an ISAF case that covers the situation but in a hearing I would tend to hold (as a member of the protest committee) that a boat has cleared the line only when she is sufficiently far from the line to be keeping clear of any boat that is still racing and approaching the finish line. Until this moment she is subject to all the rules of Part 2 and may be protested under these rules. Thus, for instance a windward keep clear boat would still be racing, and under an obligation to keep clear (rule 11) at least until the leeward boat has finished. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
redders ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 30 Dec 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 41 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Gordon, What is your take on the the issue of hitting the mark? Redders |
|
The older I get the faster I was!
|
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Read rule 31.1 "While racing, a boat shall not touch (....) a finishing mark after finishing.
A boat is racing until she has finished and cleared the line. Until that moment if the boat hits the finishing mark rule 31.2 applies. The boat must take a one turn penalty then sail completely to the course side of the line before finishing. Once a boat has cleared the line she may bounce of as many marks as she wants as long as she doesn't interfere with boats that are racing. It is ultimately the protest committee's call to define what clearing the line actually means - probably not the same for an Optimist race on a duckpond and a TP52 race on the open sea. Hope this is clear Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
Matt Jackson ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 21 Sep 04 Location: Darlington Online Status: Offline Posts: 962 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Kinda similar situation: I got some stern looks from the RO yesterday because after I finished I re-crossed the finish line... twice. The final leg was an absolutly perfect beam reach in a F4-5 and was so good a gybed round, reached back up to the last mark and repeated the leg a couple of times. I even got another gun on the second go! I made sure I didn't get in anyones way and crossed the line the correct way both times so there was no infringement - just (not so) youthful exuberance! |
|
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36
|
|
![]() |
|
snoopy ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 06 Oct 06 Online Status: Offline Posts: 14 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I reckon that once you have finished you are not a racing boat, so you have
to keep clear, and out of seamanship and sportsmanship you could be penalized if you infringed someone else. As for hitting the ODM you could hit it once the gun has gone because the gun signals that you have finished the race! |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Snoopy,
As for hitting the finish mark : Rule 31.1 very specifically says the exact opposite. "While racing, a boat shall not touch (...) a finishing mark after finishing." A boat is racing, according to the definition, until "she finishes and clears the finishing line". Clearing the finishing line may take place some time after finishing! The (non-obligatory) gun, whistle or other sound signal given by the Race Committee does not signal that the boat is no longer racing. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |