Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Finish line |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123> |
Author | |
Guests ![]() Guest Group ![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 19 Oct 06 at 12:15pm |
Boat on boat situations resulting in penalties are still valid unless the boats in the situation have their transoms clear of the line. |
|
![]() |
|
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Once upon a time your complete boat had to cross the line for you to have finished, so for instance if you started paddling after the gun but before you had crossed completely, you would be disqualified. That seems to have changed, but I'm not sure why? Are you allowed to hit the ODM after you have been finished, but before you have cleared the line? Round the ends is in sailing instructions, not the rules, or people sailing on narrow rivers would have to drag the boats out onto the bank! The rules of sportsmanship must come into play when clearing the line, and they carry the heaviest penalties of all. |
|
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|
![]() |
|
Garry ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 18 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 536 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
The definition of finishing is quiet clear and unless you have specified something diferent in the SIs then there is no requirement to go round the ends or continue to sail on over the line and I can't see how any protest committee could determine you hadn't finished correctly if you ducked back over the line without clearing it. If however you then sailed back on starboard and called starboard on someone still racing you would probably infringe rule 22 (which applies after you have finished). But if in sailing back you have to avoid a navigational hazard and caused a boat still racing to avoid you then there is nothing for them to protest about assuming you have complied with the IRPCS. Rule 22 says something like deliberate and interfere with...
|
|
Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298 www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk |
|
![]() |
|
les5269 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 11 Oct 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1530 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Just goes to show ! I thought if you went back across the line you restarted yourself and had to re-finish No idea where I got that thought but.....? |
|
49er 531 & 5000 5025 and a mirror(now gone to mirror heaven)!
Grafham water Sailing Club The greatest inland sailing in the country |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Although all members of a sailing club are, by definition, gentlemen or gentlewomen, the SIs cannot be considered to be a gentlmen's agreement. They are, again by definition (see rule book), part of the rules. A boat is racing until she finishes and clears the finishing line, and can thus be protested under Part 2. All the Part 2 rules apply.
When has a boat cleared the finishing line? At the very minimum when part of her hull, crew or equipment are no longer on the line after the boat has finished. However,in a hearing I would probably consider that a boat has cleared the line when she has gone beyond either end of the line or has sailed several boat legths beyong the line. The idea being that the boat is clear of the line when any manoeuvre cannot interfere with a boat that is still racing. and approaching the line. I couldn't find a case to confirm this interpretation. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
Contender 541 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 05 Dec 05 Location: Burton on Trent Online Status: Offline Posts: 1402 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I think we used to have it in out club SI's, and as I am on the committee we may again!! Basically you are all saying nothing in RRS, but gentlemans agreement is different Thanks for the info guys and gals - appreciated |
|
When you find a big kettle of crazy it's probably best not to stir it - Pointy Haired Boss
Crew on 505 8780 |
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
We have it in out club SIs to make life easier for thefinish recorders. Nothing in RRS. |
|
![]() |
|
Garry ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 18 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 536 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
There is no requirement to sail around the ends to finish a part of your boat or crew just has to cross the line in their normal position from the direction of the last mark. Theoretically if the finish was a beat you could come head to wind on the line, put 1 inch of your bow across and then back the sails and reverse clear...
Good sportamanship suggests you should make your intention clear to other boats still racing. 22.1 requires you to keep clear 'if possible'. You are still required to follow the RRS after you finish except you can't be penalised (preamble to part 2) for infringements as such, except rule 22 and in extreme cases 2. |
|
Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298 www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk |
|
![]() |
|
MRJP BUZZ 585 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 05 Mar 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1496 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Also i suppose if the course takes you through the line both ways then you might not know they are not racing and might think they have right of way
|
|
![]() |
|
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Part of the issue I find is that even though they may not actually get in your way you are still thinking 'Which way are they going, have they seen me etc..' can make you take your eye off the ball and cost a mistake.
Paul |
|
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |