Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Calling starboard |
Post Reply ![]() |
Author | |
jpbuzz591 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 May 05 Location: England Online Status: Offline Posts: 793 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 17 Jul 06 at 8:03pm |
Need some help here as I'm not too hot on my racing rules. Was racing in a 400 yesterday, we were on starboard, a laser was coming up to us on port, we called starboard, he tacked and clipped our side and about half a second before he hit us called for room as we were windward boat, giving us no time to react. Luckily no damage, but were we in the right? |
|
Jp Indoe
Contender 518 Buzz591 Chew Valley Sailing club Bristol |
|
![]() |
|
HannahJ ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 23 Jul 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 861 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Theoretically you should have given way, but he also should have given you time to get clear. I think you were in the right there.
|
|
MIRROR 64799 "Dolphin"
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist hopes it will change; the realist adjusts the sail |
|
![]() |
|
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Don't have the rule no's to hand, but he needs to keep clear until he has completed the tack(but you do have the burden to avoid if he does not). You do not (assuming surronded by navigable water) need to give any room to tack to avoid you. Sounds to me like Mr Laser screwed up, left it too late and then clipped you. IF he completed the tack and then decided to luff you, he has to give you time to keep clear.
If in the process of the finishing the "Roll tack" his rail hit your lea side. He is wrong. Edited by Scooby_simon |
|
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
|
![]() |
|
jpbuzz591 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 May 05 Location: England Online Status: Offline Posts: 793 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
thanks that what i thought but just wasnt sure
|
|
Jp Indoe
Contender 518 Buzz591 Chew Valley Sailing club Bristol |
|
![]() |
|
tackhoonhol ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 21 Jul 06 Online Status: Offline Posts: 4 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
agreed. You have no requirement to guess what he is going to do. Therefore his manoeuvre must give you sufficient room to keep clear. Remember he is the give way boat until his sail is on the port side of his boat. Once he is on his new tack he still has an obligation to give you time to avoid any manoeuvre he makes.
|
|
To light for a laser, not gonna win the Olympics, sail a decent boat....Sail a Byte
|
|
![]() |
|
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
He's thr give way boat until he has reached a close-hauled course, not when his sail is on the post side. When he passes head to wind is important as it decides how the overlap was established and therefore whether he has luffing rights. |
|
![]() |
|
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Any answer is just a guess from the information you have given. How long after he completed his tack did you collide? "Completed" means close-hauled. Was he clear ahead when he completed his tack? Were you both on a windward leg at the time? Was he luffing you or sailing a proper course (given that a Laser might point higher than a 400)?
|
|
![]() |
|
jpbuzz591 ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 May 05 Location: England Online Status: Offline Posts: 793 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
it was literally about a second before collision. He was clear ahead, and it was a windward leg, and at that time was sailing a proper course.
|
|
Jp Indoe
Contender 518 Buzz591 Chew Valley Sailing club Bristol |
|
![]() |
|
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
That's one that could go either way in a protest, depending on the facts found and bearing in mind that he'd probably tell the story slightly differently, because that's usually what happens in protests. Once he is closed-hauled, he is right of way boat. As soon as he is close-hauled, you are required to take action to keep clear. So did you start to take avoiding action the moment he completed his tack? If you did but we unable to keep clear, he is out. If you didn't, you are out. From your account, it doesn't sound like you took avoiding action at all. In that case, you were in the wrong. You are actually entitled to tack pretty close to other boats. Close enough to annoy and inconvenience them, close enough so they have to take avoiding action, but not so close that they cannot take avoiding action. |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |