Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Windward /leeward |
Post Reply ![]() |
Author | |
ClubRacer ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 23 Jun 16 at 10:15pm |
nicely put jim
|
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
The Leeward boat has Right of Way (RRS 11), Section A rule
The Leeward boat is restricted in what it can do by Section B rules, particularly RRS15 and RRS17. In particular RRS 17 says that if the overlap was established from behind rather than below, the leeward boat may not sail above her proper course. Proper Course is defined in the definitions, which are a vital and arguable understudied part of the rules. The proper course is the one you would sail in the absence of other boats. In simplified practical terms this means that the leeward boat may not luff the windward boat or sail higher because of the wind shadow of the windward boat, but if the leeward boat was sailing higher before the boats became overlapped she may continue to do so. The windward boat must always keep clear of the leeward boat, even if it means sailing higher than she wants to. The course the windward boat would like to sail is irrelevant because she doesn't have right of way. Its important to note that keep clear means rather more than not touch. If the two boats are 6 inches apart windward has failed to keep clear. Very roughly speaking windward must keep clear, but leeward is restricted from aggressive boat on boat tactical manouvers. Edited by JimC - 20 Jun 16 at 5:01pm |
|
![]() |
|
limey ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 21 Dec 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 46 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Can someone please clarify the windward leeward rule for me
Two asymmetric boats are reaching under spinnaker. the boat behind slowly catches the boat in front and overtakes to leeward . Once an overlap is established what rights if any does the Leeward boat have ? Can he luff if providing the windward boat sufficient time to respond. If he was sailing a slightly tighter angle than the windward boat does the WW boat need to alter his course. When he sails in to the windward shadow of the WW boat can the LW boat luff to refill his genniker. Please can someone give me a full explanation of the rules , thanks
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |