New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Mark rounding/windward boat
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Mark rounding/windward boat

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Mark rounding/windward boat
    Posted: 01 Oct 13 at 10:22pm
This is very like case 25 in the case book...

http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/20132016ISAFCaseBook-[14819].pdf

To quote:
"IW sailed a hull length away from the mark on a course over 45 degrees below close-hauled and, as a result, took much more space than rule 18.2(b) entitled her to take."
And in the case that's treated as too slow to harden up and Inside Windward was DSQ.
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Oct 13 at 10:12pm
Case 25 would be pertinent - when an inside windward boat that is entitled to mark-room takes more space than she is entitled to, she must keep clear of the outside leeward boat, and the outside boat may luff provided that she gives the inside boat room to keep clear.

Boat A is entitled to room to sail to the mark and room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course. She must do this whilst manoeuvvring promptly in a seamanlike way.

If the protest committee finds that A took more room than that to which she was entitled (and a less than competent mark rounding might lead to that) then A was required to keep clear.
Gordon
Back to Top
NickM View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 27 May 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 328
Post Options Post Options   Quote NickM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Oct 13 at 9:33pm
A minor incident on Sunday got me wondering. Situation was this.

Two boats in the same class race running down on port gybe to the leeward mark for a port hand rounding. Wind Force 3-4. Boat A is astern of Boat B but just establishes an overlap when entering the three hull length zone.

Boat B gives A mark room and as they harden up onto a port tack beat after the mark, (i.e. the mark is now just astern,) Boat B is level with but to leeward of Boat A. Boat A's boom end lightly brushes the shoulder of the helm of Boat B who is now hiking hard.

At what moment does 18.2 switch off and 11 apply? Boat B thought Boat A had made a less than competent mark rounding and was slow to sheet in and harden up. Boat A might have taken the view that Boat B did not give him sufficient room to complete the rounding in a seamanlike manner. At what point is Boat A is obliged to keep clear however slow it is to reach a proper close hauled course?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy