Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Mark rounding/windward boat |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Author | |
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 01 Oct 13 at 10:22pm |
This is very like case 25 in the case book...
http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/20132016ISAFCaseBook-[14819].pdf To quote: "IW sailed a hull length away from the mark on a course over 45 degrees below close-hauled and, as a result, took much more space than rule 18.2(b) entitled her to take." And in the case that's treated as too slow to harden up and Inside Windward was DSQ. |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Case 25 would be pertinent - when an inside windward boat that is entitled to mark-room takes more space than she is entitled to, she must keep clear of the outside leeward boat, and the outside boat may luff provided that she gives the inside boat room to keep clear.
Boat A is entitled to room to sail to the mark and room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course. She must do this whilst manoeuvvring promptly in a seamanlike way. If the protest committee finds that A took more room than that to which she was entitled (and a less than competent mark rounding might lead to that) then A was required to keep clear. |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
NickM ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 27 May 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 328 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
A minor incident on Sunday got me wondering. Situation was this.
Two boats in the same class race running down on port gybe to the leeward mark for a port hand rounding. Wind Force 3-4. Boat A is astern of Boat B but just establishes an overlap when entering the three hull length zone. Boat B gives A mark room and as they harden up onto a port tack beat after the mark, (i.e. the mark is now just astern,) Boat B is level with but to leeward of Boat A. Boat A's boom end lightly brushes the shoulder of the helm of Boat B who is now hiking hard. At what moment does 18.2 switch off and 11 apply? Boat B thought Boat A had made a less than competent mark rounding and was slow to sheet in and harden up. Boat A might have taken the view that Boat B did not give him sufficient room to complete the rounding in a seamanlike manner. At what point is Boat A is obliged to keep clear however slow it is to reach a proper close hauled course? |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |