New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Near collision whilst broaching
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Near collision whilst broaching

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Ruscoe View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 12 Jan 10
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1514
Post Options Post Options   Quote Ruscoe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Near collision whilst broaching
    Posted: 05 Aug 13 at 1:46pm
But if boat B has the ability to complete its 'Crash gybe' then surely it had time and oportunity to complete the manovure?  The fact the kite was damaged may be for a number of reasons.  How can this be proved to be boats A's faultif there was no contact?

Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 13 at 11:54am
If a boat KNOWS she broke a rule she MUST take a penalty (Basic Principles - Sportsmanship and the Rules [not a rule, by the way])

If she knows she broke rule and in the incident, caused serious damage or injury, her penalty shall be to retire, that is she cannot take a turns or scoring penalty (rule 44.1( b ).

If a boat does not KNOW that she broke a rule she is under no obligation to take any penalty, and it is up to another boat or a race or protest committee to make a valid protest if they wish the boat to be penalised (rules 64.1 and A5)
Back to Top
laser193713 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 13 May 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 889
Post Options Post Options   Quote laser193713 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Aug 13 at 9:30am
Should S have to retire for causing serious damage? Or is that only the case in a collision?
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Aug 13 at 2:10pm
Originally posted by Lukepiewalker

Yes.

Case 99 seems to be the nearest in the casebook.
 
As Luke says.
 
Being out of control does not exonerate a boat from its obligations.
Whilst there may not have been any physical contact between the two boats, for P to undertake an uncontrolled crash gybe and in doing so damaging its spinnaker to avoid a collision indicates that S' change of course did not give P sufficient opportunity to keep clear in the context of the rules.

Addendum; Rule 15 / rule 16.1 would apply.


Edited by Andymac - 05 Aug 13 at 11:01am
Back to Top
Lukepiewalker View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1341
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lukepiewalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Aug 13 at 11:11pm
Yes.

Case 99 seems to be the nearest in the casebook.
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
Back to Top
jsluke View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Mar 12
Location: Cowes
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8
Post Options Post Options   Quote jsluke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Aug 13 at 5:27pm

Boat A is on port tack heading directly downwind under Spinnaker.

Boat B is also on port tack and heading downwind under Spinnaker.

Boat B approaches Boat A from astern and more than 2 boat lengths to leeward.  She establishes an overlap and closes on Boat A.

Boat A is ready to keep clear of Boat B, however she suddenly broaches and crash gybes onto Starboard.  She is out of control throughout the broach and at one point looks like she is about to T-bone Boat B.  Boat B crash gybes to avoid the collision and in the process damages her spinnaker.

Boat B protests Boat A for not giving her the time and opportunity to stay clear when gybing onto Starboard.

Boat A does not deny any of the facts but simply states that she was out of control.

Would Boat B win the protest?

Thanks.

James.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy