Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Mark room or Port/Starboard |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1234> |
Author | ||||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 18 Dec 12 at 7:11am |
|||
The way to avoid this situation is to slow down a force the outside boat to stay outside of you. That way they cannot so a cut back type manoever as has been done here because they will be too far alongside.
As for right and wrong in this case I would not like to call as I thought that if you acquired right of way because of another boats actions (which happened in this case) the requirement to keep clear was always firmly on the boat that bestowed the right of way? I do not have a rule book to hand though so i cannot quote the relevant rule number.
|
||||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||||
![]() |
||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
But it makes no difference. Rule 18.1 does not change in 2013.
From an application of rules point of view, the reason you are not allowed room to complete your tack once you have passed head to wind is that, in the specific circumstances where the proper course of the other boat at the mark is to tack, once you pass head to wind, you are not entitled to any mark-room at all, because rule 18 ceases to apply.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Presuming Ed ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Feb 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 641 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
You're quoting 2013-2016 rules, which don't come into effect for a couple of weeks.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Presuming Ed ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Feb 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 641 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
In case 15, there is no overlap at any point.
Match racing tactics 101. If clear ahead at the top mark, slow and get the opposition overlapped outside you. They then have to give you room to tack. Defence is never to give the overlap - keep eyes open, and match speed with boat ahead. Again, defns. Mark-Room Room for a boat to sail to the mark, and then room to sail her proper course while at the mark. However, mark-room does not include room to tack unless the boat is overlapped to windward and on the inside of the boat required to give mark-room.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Simon368 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 24 Aug 10 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 20 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
if the definition of mark room is: 'room to round the mark as neccesary to sail the course' and the course is to tack round to sail bck in the direction you have just come, how can you not be allowed to tack.
b) room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course. Edited by Simon368 - 17 Dec 12 at 10:39pm |
||||
![]() |
||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
When L, in tacking, passed head to wind, boats came to be on opposite tacks, and the proper course of S at the mark, but not of L, was to tack. Rule 18, from that instant ceased to apply (rule 18.1( b )), (Case 15 second last sentence). Room to tack only allows room until you have passed head to wind.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Presuming Ed ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Feb 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 641 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Yellow is overlapped inside to windward. Defn of mark room includes room for inside boat to tack. Yellow has right to tack and sail proper course at mark.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Simon368 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 24 Aug 10 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 20 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
AlexM
see previous page there is a website address. Only found it today
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
@4, Y is past head to wind, rule 18 is off, and B breaks rule 16.1.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
S was partly right, but rule 10, port/starboard was not the only rule that still applied.
L was initially overlapped inside and entitled to mark-room, thus the mark-room to which she was entitled included room to tack (Definition: mark-room), as long as it lasted.
When L, in tacking, passed head to wind, boats came to be on opposite tacks, and the proper course of S at the mark, but not of L, was to tack. Rule 18, from that instant ceased to apply (rule 18.1( b )), (Case 15 last sentence). Room to tack only allows room until you have passed head to wind.
You said S hardened up and contact occurred. That sounds like S, the right of way boat changing course did not give L room to keep clear, so S broke rule 16.1, and quite likely rule 14.
L on Port did not keep clear of S on starboard, so L broke rule 10, but if S did not give L room to keep clear, then L would have been compelled to break rule 10 by S breaking rule 16.1 and L shold be exonerated in accordance with rule 64.1( c ).
The issue is not whether your were 'at' the mark (which on your diagram, I don't dispute you were). On my analysis, as you originally described it, once you passsed head to wind, rule 18 went off in its entiriey. I agree with PEd that, as diagrammed, S had already failed to give you mark-room before you luffed and passed head to wind.
Rupert, please join us in the 21st century. The entitlement conferred by rule 16.1 is an entitlement to room, being 'The space a boat needs in the existing conditions while manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way'. The concept of time is conveyed by 'promptly' and there is nothing about 'opportunity'. Edited by Brass - 17 Dec 12 at 10:02pm |
||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1234> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |