New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Mark room or Port/Starboard
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Mark room or Port/Starboard

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
Simon368 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 10
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 20
Post Options Post Options   Quote Simon368 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Mark room or Port/Starboard
    Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 8:54pm
i will try to use the software to show positions but I was 'overlapped to windward and on the indside 'as I approached the mark and the mark would have been alonside my staboard side amidships as I existed the tack on port
Back to Top
Simon368 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 10
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 20
Post Options Post Options   Quote Simon368 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 9:17pm
like this:
Back to Top
Presuming Ed View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 641
Post Options Post Options   Quote Presuming Ed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 9:30pm
Still at the mark. Ping blue for not giving mark room. 
Back to Top
AlexM View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 10 Jan 06
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 857
Post Options Post Options   Quote AlexM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 9:31pm
What software is that?
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 9:43pm
Originally posted by Simon368

Hi Rupert, I dont think the tide is relavent as this would apply to any mark where you are reaching in to and away from the mark. The only proper course was to tack round the mark. The Streaker arguement was that once I had tacked the rounding was complete and only port / starboard applied. The question is does it?
S was partly right, but rule 10, port/starboard was not the only rule that still applied.
 
L was initially overlapped inside and entitled to mark-room, thus the mark-room to which she was entitled included room to tack (Definition:  mark-room), as long as it lasted.
 
When L, in tacking, passed head to wind, boats came to be on opposite tacks, and the proper course of S at the mark, but not of L, was to tack.  Rule 18, from that instant ceased to apply (rule 18.1( b )), (Case 15 last sentence).  Room to tack only allows room until you have passed head to wind.
 
You said S hardened up and contact occurred.  That sounds like S, the right of way boat changing course did not give L room to keep clear, so S broke rule 16.1, and quite likely rule 14.
 
L on Port did not keep clear of S on starboard, so L broke rule 10, but if S did not give L room to keep clear, then L would have been compelled to break rule 10 by S breaking rule 16.1 and L shold be exonerated in accordance with rule 64.1( c ).
 
Originally posted by Simon368

i will try to use the software to show positions but I was 'overlapped to windward and on the indside 'as I approached the mark and the mark would have been alonside my staboard side amidships as I existed the tack on port
 
The issue is not whether your were 'at' the mark (which on your diagram, I don't dispute you were).  On my analysis, as you originally described it, once you passsed head to wind, rule 18 went off in its entiriey.  I agree with PEd that, as diagrammed, S had already failed to give you mark-room before you luffed and passed head to wind.
 
Originally posted by Rupert

Surely there has to be time and opportunity to keep clear following the tack?  If the tide is taking you, then opportunity is not there. And if you are still in the process of rounding the mark, then you still have mark room. And, as was said, if a boat deliberately luffs to hit you, they are in the wrong, whatever else happens.
 
Rupert, please join us in the 21st century.  The entitlement conferred by rule 16.1 is an entitlement to room, being 'The space a boat needs in the existing conditions while manoeuvring
promptly in a seamanlike way'.  The concept of time is conveyed by 'promptly' and there is nothing about 'opportunity'.


Edited by Brass - 17 Dec 12 at 10:02pm
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 9:52pm
Originally posted by Presuming Ed

Still at the mark. Ping blue for not giving mark room. 
I agree that @3.5 B is not giving mark-room, and that, Y is entitled to luff as hard as she likes, as long as she does not pass head to wind.
 
@4, Y is past head to wind, rule 18 is off, and B breaks rule 16.1.
Back to Top
Simon368 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 10
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 20
Post Options Post Options   Quote Simon368 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 9:54pm
AlexM
 
see previous page there is a website address. Only found it today
Back to Top
Presuming Ed View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 641
Post Options Post Options   Quote Presuming Ed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 10:23pm
Originally posted by Brass

Originally posted by Presuming Ed

Still at the mark. Ping blue for not giving mark room. 
I agree that @3.5 B is not giving mark-room, and that, Y is entitled to luff as hard as she likes, as long as she does not pass head to wind.
 
@4, Y is past head to wind, rule 18 is off, and B breaks rule 16.1.

Yellow is overlapped inside to windward. Defn of mark room includes room for inside boat to tack. Yellow has right to tack and sail proper course at mark. 
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 10:27pm
Originally posted by Presuming Ed

Originally posted by Brass

Originally posted by Presuming Ed

Still at the mark. Ping blue for not giving mark room. 
I agree that @3.5 B is not giving mark-room, and that, Y is entitled to luff as hard as she likes, as long as she does not pass head to wind.
 
@4, Y is past head to wind, rule 18 is off, and B breaks rule 16.1.

Yellow is overlapped inside to windward. Defn of mark room includes room for inside boat to tack. Yellow has right to tack and sail proper course at mark. 
When L, in tacking, passed head to wind, boats came to be on opposite tacks, and the proper course of S at the mark, but not of L, was to tack.  Rule 18, from that instant ceased to apply (rule 18.1( b )), (Case 15 second last sentence).  Room to tack only allows room until you have passed head to wind.
 
If A were to pass head to wind, then at that moment all parts of rule 18
would cease to apply because the boats would be on opposite tacks (see
rule 18.1(b)).
 
 
Back to Top
Simon368 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 10
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 20
Post Options Post Options   Quote Simon368 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 10:38pm
if the definition of mark room is: 'room to round the mark as neccesary to sail the course' and the course is to tack round to sail bck in the direction you have just come, how can you not be allowed to tack.

 

b) room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course.



Edited by Simon368 - 17 Dec 12 at 10:39pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy