New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Mark room or Port/Starboard
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Mark room or Port/Starboard

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234
Author
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Mark room or Port/Starboard
    Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 4:43pm
Its always good to go to the Case book (http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/CaseBook20092012updatedNov2011-[11669].pdf with situations you aren't sure about.
I think in this case I would be looking very hard at Case 15, Case 25 and Case 95.
There's probably a bit more detail required to be 100% sure of the answer.
Back to Top
Simon368 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 10
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 20
Post Options Post Options   Quote Simon368 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 4:17pm
The Streaker did not have and overlap which is why he went behind me as he was travelling faster. At this point the wind was at 90deg to our course. I was windward boat when I had rthe mark room and at the point I started to tack he had maybe a foot of overlap on the outside. So by just hardening up to close hauled he kept momentum against the tide whilst I slowed in the tack and the tide pushed be wide. Remember this was happening in slow motion against a strong tide.
Back to Top
craiggo View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1810
Post Options Post Options   Quote craiggo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 4:07pm
Given that contact was made (I assume you were Lightning), the correct course of action would be to protest the Streaker for causing a collision. If they thought you were in the wrong, they should have protested you rather than hitting you.
Based on what you claim to be the events it is difficult to really be certain that Streaker didn't have an overlap at 3 boat lengths on the grounds that you luffed, therefore almost certainly creating the overlap. (As you luff the line drawn across your transom will rapidly move back down the course). Lets assume however that the Streaker dived below you prior to the 3 boat length circle, then you are entitled to make a mark rounding in a seamanlike manner and they must give you room to do so. Your description however is confusing at this point. If you were to windward of Streaker as you started to tack then he would sail past and the only chance of collision would be if he tacked onto port and then bore away into you, otherwise it suggests he was infact to windward of you and that you have tacked in his water.
Id be interested to see a diagram or the other persons view!
Back to Top
Simon368 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Aug 10
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 20
Post Options Post Options   Quote Simon368 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 12 at 3:41pm
This happened yesterday and although I did eventually take turns after a long discussion between boats I am still not convinced I was wrong.
 
sailing on a river and wind is light and direction erratic. Two boats reaching downriver on starboard to a mark to be left to starboard. Course away from mark is another reach/fetch on port back up river so boats will have to tack round the mark.
 
Lightning is ahead, Steaker behind goes to windward outside of 3 boat lengths, swift Luff by Lightning and Streaker bears away behind to go to leeward of Lightning. Streaker is overlapped ourtside as they enter 3 boat lenghts.
 
The Lightnings proper course is the tack round the mark and head back off up the river. Being inside boat Lightning tacks round the mark, not a good rounding as Steaker has held him tight and tide is pushing him away from the mark. Steaker hardens up calls starboard just as Lightning is competing the tack. Contact is made.
 
So Lighting arguement is that they had mark room, streaker should have given room to complete tack as this was the proper course.
 
Streaker arguement, mark room is irrelavent as Lightning had gone round the mark, port starboard applies.

I have read the rules and still am unsure who was right?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy