New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Rule 10 or rule 18?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Rule 10 or rule 18?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Presuming Ed View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 641
Post Options Post Options   Quote Presuming Ed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rule 10 or rule 18?
    Posted: 21 Aug 12 at 7:45pm
No rule trumps. Different rules place different requirements on each boat. 

C is windward of A. C must keep clear of A as a windward boat (11).  C also, as an inside overlapped boat, has right to mark room from A. 

A is leeward of C. As RoW boat wrt C, A must alter course in such a way as to give C room to keep clear (16.1). C must give A mark room. 

A is on port, and B is on starboard. A must keep clear of B (10). As inside overlapped (by definition) boat, B has to give A mark room. When B alters course, she must give A room to keep clear (16.1). 


Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 12 at 7:09pm
SECTION A
RIGHT OF WAY
A boat has right of way when another boat is required to keep clear
of her. However, some rules in Sections B, C and D limit the actions
of a right-of-way boat.

So rule 10 is valid, but is restricted by rule 18. By your description the outside boat didn't give required room and should take a penalty.
Back to Top
JohnnyJupiter View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 12
Location: Weekapaug, RI
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Post Options Post Options   Quote JohnnyJupiter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 12 at 6:51pm
Situation: Two Beetlecats approaching the leeward mark, both running by the lee. The mark will be taken to port. Inside the zone, boat A is on port tack and is the inside boat with an overlap on boat B.  Boat B is on starboard tack.  Boat B (outside boat) calls "Starboard!" and bumps into boat A; B's port rail hits A's starboard rail, a light tap/rub, no damage, no change of course by either boat.

Question: Which rule 'trumps'?  Rule 10 says boat B (outside boat) has rights because B is on starboard.  Rule 18 says boat A (inside boat) must be given mark room.

Possible extenuating circumstances (I don't know if these are germane to the question):

1. Rounding the mark, boat A (inside) will merely harden up while boat B (outside) will gybe. Rule 18.1.b states rule 18 does not apply at all (quoting the rule here): "...when the proper course at the mark for one but not both of them is to tack."  In this case, neither boat tacked: one gybed, one just hauled in.  So IMHO rule 18 applies...agree or disagree?

2. Actually there were three Beetles.  On boat A's port side was another boat C, also on port tack with an overlap on A and B.  Boat A was giving C room at the mark.  Does C constitute an obstruction for A?  If so, doesn't that mean B has to give A room?

My weak attempt at a diagram below. Posted by a newbie, please advise if I can supply more information.  Thanks very much for your time and comments.


--JJ
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy