Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
luffing |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123> |
Author | ||
SoggyBadger ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Oct 10 Location: The Wild Wood Online Status: Offline Posts: 552 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 30 Jun 12 at 10:44pm |
|
The rules are clear enough Rupert. The (presumably overtaking) assy boat in you scenario has no rights over the windward boat until it has sailed through its lee and broken the overlap. This is basically how its always been for boats overtaking to leewards. The big change in the rules compared to the Golden Age of dinghy sailing (when it was allowed to be fun) is the situation for an overtaking boat passing to windward which now needs to break the overlap to deny the leeward boat luffing rights compared to the old "mast abeam" rule.
|
||
Best wishes from deep in the woods
SB |
||
![]() |
||
RS400atC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Dec 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 3011 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Twaddle! |
||
![]() |
||
r2d2 ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 29 Sep 11 Online Status: Offline Posts: 350 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
+1
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Obviously not clear enough: because I'm afraid that's not the case. The windward boat is still the windward boat and must keep clear of the leeward boat. Its just that if the leeward boat establishes the overlap from behind she may not sail above her proper course. |
||
![]() |
||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
What she can't do is "luff" - ie change course with the intent to force the other boat off course. If the intent is to sail the course she would sail in the absence of the other boat, then there isn't a problem in the rules.
|
||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
||
![]() |
||
SoggyBadger ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Oct 10 Location: The Wild Wood Online Status: Offline Posts: 552 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I prefer to think of it as the product of a fertile imagination ![]() ![]() |
||
Best wishes from deep in the woods
SB |
||
![]() |
||
Presuming Ed ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Feb 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 641 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
The rules aren't about intention. They're about what boats actually do. Altering course to windward is luffing. From the RRS: Terminology A term used in the sense stated in the Definitions is printed in italics or, in preambles, in bold italics (for example, racing and racing). ‘Racing rule’ means a rule in The Racing Rules of Sailing. ‘Boat’ means a sailboat and the crew on board. ‘Race committee’ includes any person or committee performing a race committee function. A ‘change’ to a rule includes an addition to it or deletion of all or part of it. ‘National authority’ means an ISAF member national authority. Other words and terms are used in the sense ordinarily understood in nautical or general use. From the Oxford dictionary website: luff Pronunciation: /lʌf/ Sailing noun the edge of a fore-and-aft sail next to the mast or stay: if your luff is flapping, pull the sail towards you to fill it with wind verb [with object] steer (a yacht) nearer the wind: I came aft and luffed her for the open sea obstruct (an opponent in yacht racing) by sailing closer to the wind: he can luff you, but must leave you room to get clear The limit on how high a leeward boat can luff is provided by RRS 17. 17 ON THE SAME TACK; PROPER COURSE If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to keep clear. The limit on the speed of the luff is 16.1. 16 CHANGING COURSE 16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear. Edited by Presuming Ed - 01 Jul 12 at 9:02pm |
||
![]() |
||
SoggyBadger ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Oct 10 Location: The Wild Wood Online Status: Offline Posts: 552 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Sadly I don't think that's quite correct. The problem comes with the definition of "proper course" (see ISAF Case 14). Even within the restrictions of rule 17 (which I think covers the scenario we're discussing here) the leeward boat can still change course as long as she gives the windward boat the opportunity to keep clear. |
||
Best wishes from deep in the woods
SB |
||
![]() |
||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
OK, clear this up once and for all then, please? Is the boat to leeward entitled to sail her proper course however she got to her position, or not? And if not, when isn't she?
|
||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
||
![]() |
||
r2d2 ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 29 Sep 11 Online Status: Offline Posts: 350 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
yes she can but she must give the other boat room to keep clear
Edited by r2d2 - 01 Jul 12 at 10:16pm |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |