New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Laser Start?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Laser Start?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345>
Author
Lukepiewalker View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1341
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lukepiewalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Laser Start?
    Posted: 16 May 11 at 9:07am
DSQ for the windward boat I would expect.
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 10:24am
Depending on the facts found I may well disagree with Brass on this. The situation as I read it is that L luffed followed by a luff by W to keep clear.
L then luffs again and W luffs in response.
This is repeated several times.

In this case every time L luffs she is bound by rule 16.1 to give room to W to keep clear.
There will reach a point where, in reply any further luff by L, W is unable to keep clear. At this point L must cease luffing. If, in reply to a luff by L, the only way for W to keep clear is to tack then L must give her room to do so.

A further consideration on a crowded start line. W must have somewhere to go. If W has another boat to windward then when L gives W room to windward that includes the space needed for W to give room to the keep clear boat to windward. Furthermore, you cannot luff a windward boat into the committee boat.

So - the question a jury would have to ask would be - did L give room to W to keep clear every time L luffed? Did W react promptly and adequately?

If L had not been giving room to W before L bears away then not only do the last luffs break rule 16.1 but so does the bear away.

On the other hand, if L had given room and W was not keeping clear then W has broken rule 11.

If W was keeping clear but the bear away was so hard that W did not have room to keep clear then L breaks 16.1.

It would be worth reading the Team Racing Call Book - calls B1, B2, C1 and C2

Gordon

Gordon
Back to Top
blueboy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 27 Aug 10
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 512
Post Options Post Options   Quote blueboy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 10:39am
Originally posted by RS400atC

If a witness had protested both boats what would have been the outcome?


50 boats sitting head to wind on the startline, each luffing the next. You think anyone's got  time to see what's going on between two other boats?


Edited by blueboy - 16 May 11 at 10:58am
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 10:48am
The source of a protest should make no difference to the outcome; It is the PC's job to establish facts and then decide, on the basis of the established facts, if a rule has been broken.

Protests from Race Committee or judges on the water, for instance, do occur.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
SalsaPirates View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 19 Jan 10
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 37
Post Options Post Options   Quote SalsaPirates Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 4:04pm
apologies but slightly off theme but related .....   As a member of a race team, if you see an infringment on the water, should you take any action? e.g.:
 
1. you witness an infringment and no-one does penalty turns or protests?
2. a competitor sails the worng course ....  sails to wrong mark or rounds a mark in wrong direction or hits a mark and no other competitors witness or take action?
 
 
Back to Top
RS400atC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Dec 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3011
Post Options Post Options   Quote RS400atC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 4:34pm
Originally posted by SalsaPirates

apologies but slightly off theme but related .....   As a member of a race team, if you see an infringment on the water, should you take any action? e.g.:
 
1. you witness an infringment and no-one does penalty turns or protests?
2. a competitor sails the worng course ....  sails to wrong mark or rounds a mark in wrong direction or hits a mark and no other competitors witness or take action?
 
 
If I saw a boat sail the wrong course, I would, as RO record its time, but not record it as a finisher in the provisional results. Have a word with them and if they dispute it, you can hold a hearing and you have all the info to re-instate them if their course was correct after all.
 
In the event of an infringement, if it was blatant enough to warrant it, protest the wrong doers. Alternatively ask a competent rules person to talk it over with the participants.
Depends a little on the level of competition and whether you think it's blatant disregard for the rules or just a one-off error of judgement.
I would suggest only going to protest if you have sufficient witnesses, and the situation is clear enough, to be reasonably sure of a 'conviction', you have nothing to gain personally and a the worst case is the protest not upheld meaning the guilty party thinks he can get away with x,y and z in the future.
Just a pragmatic approach at club level.
Back to Top
asterix View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 01 Aug 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 621
Post Options Post Options   Quote asterix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 4:41pm
"I would suggest only going to protest if you have sufficient witnesses"
 
isn't this a bit of a general problem -particularly for single handers?
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 5:06pm
The race committee not recording a boat as a finisher when she has finished wouold be grounds for redress, as it is contraryto rule A5. By the time that you have "had a word" with competitor time limit might well have been reached and the RC protest might well be found invalid.

There are ISAF guidelines on what a RC and judges would protest - somewhere in the manuals. Roughly speaking anything that smacks of unfair sailing should be protested (including hitting a mark and sailing on.
Increasingly judges are being asked to more pro-active - commonly by signalling that they believe that they have seen an infringement. Any such request from a class association or organising club would be studied. I would advocate informing competitors.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 5:10pm
When there are no witnesses, judges form their own idea of what happened from each competitors statements, based on their own experience as sailors. This can lead to interesting debates:

at one hearing at a one design keelboat regatta evidence was given that an incident occurred just as one boat was starting to take their spinnaker down - for the cruiser-racing judges this was clear evidence that the boats had not reached the zone, whilst for the keelboat sailors on the panel this was clear evidence that boats had already entered the zone...

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
RS400atC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Dec 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3011
Post Options Post Options   Quote RS400atC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 5:21pm
Originally posted by gordon

The race committee not recording a boat as a finisher when she has finished wouold be grounds for redress,......Gordon
To finish you have to sail the course and cross the line, so if you see them not sail the (correct) course, they are DNF
It happens often enough at my club, people write the course down wrong or go to the wrong buoy in RTC racing, there is rarely any dispute that it was their mistake.
Done it myself, it was the crew's fault!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy