New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Laser Start?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Laser Start?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345>
Author
RS400atC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Dec 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3011
Post Options Post Options   Quote RS400atC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Laser Start?
    Posted: 16 May 11 at 4:34pm
Originally posted by SalsaPirates

apologies but slightly off theme but related .....   As a member of a race team, if you see an infringment on the water, should you take any action? e.g.:
 
1. you witness an infringment and no-one does penalty turns or protests?
2. a competitor sails the worng course ....  sails to wrong mark or rounds a mark in wrong direction or hits a mark and no other competitors witness or take action?
 
 
If I saw a boat sail the wrong course, I would, as RO record its time, but not record it as a finisher in the provisional results. Have a word with them and if they dispute it, you can hold a hearing and you have all the info to re-instate them if their course was correct after all.
 
In the event of an infringement, if it was blatant enough to warrant it, protest the wrong doers. Alternatively ask a competent rules person to talk it over with the participants.
Depends a little on the level of competition and whether you think it's blatant disregard for the rules or just a one-off error of judgement.
I would suggest only going to protest if you have sufficient witnesses, and the situation is clear enough, to be reasonably sure of a 'conviction', you have nothing to gain personally and a the worst case is the protest not upheld meaning the guilty party thinks he can get away with x,y and z in the future.
Just a pragmatic approach at club level.
Back to Top
SalsaPirates View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 19 Jan 10
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 37
Post Options Post Options   Quote SalsaPirates Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 4:04pm
apologies but slightly off theme but related .....   As a member of a race team, if you see an infringment on the water, should you take any action? e.g.:
 
1. you witness an infringment and no-one does penalty turns or protests?
2. a competitor sails the worng course ....  sails to wrong mark or rounds a mark in wrong direction or hits a mark and no other competitors witness or take action?
 
 
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 10:48am
The source of a protest should make no difference to the outcome; It is the PC's job to establish facts and then decide, on the basis of the established facts, if a rule has been broken.

Protests from Race Committee or judges on the water, for instance, do occur.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
blueboy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 27 Aug 10
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 512
Post Options Post Options   Quote blueboy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 10:39am
Originally posted by RS400atC

If a witness had protested both boats what would have been the outcome?


50 boats sitting head to wind on the startline, each luffing the next. You think anyone's got  time to see what's going on between two other boats?


Edited by blueboy - 16 May 11 at 10:58am
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 10:24am
Depending on the facts found I may well disagree with Brass on this. The situation as I read it is that L luffed followed by a luff by W to keep clear.
L then luffs again and W luffs in response.
This is repeated several times.

In this case every time L luffs she is bound by rule 16.1 to give room to W to keep clear.
There will reach a point where, in reply any further luff by L, W is unable to keep clear. At this point L must cease luffing. If, in reply to a luff by L, the only way for W to keep clear is to tack then L must give her room to do so.

A further consideration on a crowded start line. W must have somewhere to go. If W has another boat to windward then when L gives W room to windward that includes the space needed for W to give room to the keep clear boat to windward. Furthermore, you cannot luff a windward boat into the committee boat.

So - the question a jury would have to ask would be - did L give room to W to keep clear every time L luffed? Did W react promptly and adequately?

If L had not been giving room to W before L bears away then not only do the last luffs break rule 16.1 but so does the bear away.

On the other hand, if L had given room and W was not keeping clear then W has broken rule 11.

If W was keeping clear but the bear away was so hard that W did not have room to keep clear then L breaks 16.1.

It would be worth reading the Team Racing Call Book - calls B1, B2, C1 and C2

Gordon

Gordon
Back to Top
Lukepiewalker View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1341
Post Options Post Options   Quote Lukepiewalker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 9:07am
DSQ for the windward boat I would expect.
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"
Back to Top
RS400atC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Dec 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3011
Post Options Post Options   Quote RS400atC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 8:41am
If a witness had protested both boats what would have been the outcome?
Back to Top
blueboy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 27 Aug 10
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 512
Post Options Post Options   Quote blueboy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 5:27am
Originally posted by RS400atC

Blueboy,
Contact without protest, both DSQ.


Nope, because there was no damage. 14(b).

can you really say you couldn't possibly have come up harder and made the gap bigger?


Yes, because in this class, when you change course the boat essentially rotates around the fin keel. His stern came up towards my stern as he bore away and the contact was at the stern quarter. If I luffed, my stern would turn towards his. For a period at least there would be less room, not more. Conceivably, I might have avoided contact by bearing away, not luffing more, but then there may have contact elsewhere e.g. between rigs.

In a nutshell, you broke rule 11 first, before L broke rule 16.1, and L can argue that your breach caused her breach, and that she should be exonerated.


I would however argue that he could have beared away with the space remaining, just not so sharply as he chose to do. Before he bore away, I was keeping clear. So to what extent did I need to anticipate his bearing away?

With only 1 foot of separation,


Not particularly my choice since any more was immediately filled by L. However I've sailed a variety of keelboat classes and a foot of separation on an aggressive startline is, like it or not, pretty normal.

I'd agree however that I don't know how this would have played out in a protest room. Neither, apparently, did he! We had a subsequent polite but tense exchange of views on the incident and I'm fairly sure if he was confident he'd win a protest he would have filed one.





Edited by blueboy - 16 May 11 at 6:03am
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 11 at 1:54am
Originally posted by blueboy

Gordon, would welcome an opinion on a related situation.

Prestart, keelboats L and W are overlapped, both on starboard, luffing and almost stationary. W is clear of L by around a foot and every time W goes up, L closes the gap again to maximise her own gap to leeward. At the gun, L bore away sharply, rotating around her keel and causing her stern to swing to windward and make contact with W. No damage resulted.

I was W. It appeared to me I was making all possible effort to keep clear, particularly since every time I went up, L also went up and that L broke 16.1 (changed course to bear away and did not give me room to keep clear). L considered I broke rule 11. There was no protest.
 
Take a look at the definition of Keep Clear, last part:
 
Keep Clear One boat keeps clear of another if the other can sail her course
with no need to take avoiding action and, when the boats are overlapped on
the same tack, if the leeward boat can change course in both directions
without immediately making contact with the windward boat.
With only 1 foot of separation, it seems quite likely that when L bore away, she immediately made contact, thus, just before L bore away, you were not keeping clear.
 
L can argue that, up until she bore away, while she was luffing, she was allowing you sufficient room to keep clear (evidenced by the fact that there was no contact up to that point).  She can then argue that your failure to keep clear in breach of rule 11 the instant before she bore away (for which you deserve to be penalised) compelled her to contact you when she changed course away from the wind in breach of rule 16.1.
 
In a nutshell, you broke rule 11 first, before L broke rule 16.1, and L can argue that your breach caused her breach, and that she should be exonerated.
 
Normally the 'doing all W can' to keep clear notion applies to a hard, aggresive, continuous luff: can you really say you couldn't possibly have come up harder and made the gap bigger?
 
In the case of a gradual luff to build a cushion as you describe, L would be smart to say that her course consisted of a series of small luffs, puncutated by short periods of holding course while you responded, culminating with a period of holding course to allow you to get further away, before bearing away.  W will usually find it very hard to refute this story.
 
 
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 11 at 10:12pm
The rules were changed in 1997.

However, even in the old rules, valid at least since the 60s and probably since the 40s (some research needed) there was no mention of overtaking. The notion of overtaking boat comes from the Collision Regulations.
 
The old rule 33.2 meant that a third boat could protest both boats for a minor contact and get them both DSQ'd, leading to vexatious protests. Under the present rules it is rare to protest only for breaking rule 14, because the rule gives some protection to the ROW boat.

The keep clear boat will be DSQ'd for breaking another rule and rule 14 whereas the ROW boat will only be penalised under this rule if there was damage or injury.

It is quite frequent that, to a third party, a rule appears to have been broken without a protest being called.

Gordon

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy