Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Sailing the wrong course |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123> |
Author | |
Noah ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 29 Dec 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 611 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 15 Oct 09 at 12:57pm |
Similar situation at an open meeting this year where half the fleet hadn't read the SI's and sailed the wrong course. All were given hooters at the 'finish' but recorded as DNF.
Everyone was resigned to their fate and didn't query the results, but surely the RO team should not have given the 'finish' signals as we had only properly completed one lap and could have continued (although the time limit would have expired long before a 'proper' finish!). |
|
Nick
D-Zero 316 |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Asterix - the request for redress would be on the basis that Race Committee made an error by not following rule A5. ISAF case 80 gives guidance.
The boat had been improperly scored DNF because the Race Committee did not have the right to do so as the incident did not involve starting or finishing. As there is no protest against the boat for not sailing the correct course she cannot be disqualified for doing so. Noah - the Race Committee acted improperly - they should have recorded finish times and protested the boats that they allege did not sail the proper course. It may well be that the SIs were at fault, and that boats did sail the course described in the SIs, even if this was not the course the Race Committee intended them to sail. So boats may well be entitled to redress. As it is if a boat had requested redress she and all the other DNF boats would have been granted redress and reinstated in their finishing positions. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
ChrisJ ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 07 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 337 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
We sail average lap races. We count the boats thru the finish line every lap. Once the shorten course goes up, all boats from then on get a finish hooter (unless 20 finish together!) and a time and the number of laps sailed. SO, at the finish, a boat that has missed out the "thru the line" on a previous lap gets the wrong number of laps counted (e.g. 2 laps, not 3). So on average, they receive a lower position. Not DSQ, not DNF. They finished, but have done fewer laps. |
|
![]() |
|
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Surely not going through the line, if it is in the instructions to do so, is the same as missing a mark? If someone has sailed the wrong course and agree they have, they should retire. If they say they sailed the correct course, then they need to be protested by whoever it is says they sailed the wrong couse, whether it is a competitor or the race officer.
I confess it doesn't happen that way at our club. Generally if outside of the line you'll get shouted at loudly by someone in the box, and come back and do it right. This is probebly against the rules, too, in some way. |
|
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
One could claim that the boat was receiving outside help! See rule 41
Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Sounds like outside help to me. Probably acceptable in a friendly club race.
Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
timeintheboat ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 01 Feb 07 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 615 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Thanks Gordon for illuminating this topic.
I have to say in club racing as RO I have been guilty of acting as judge and jury and putting someone as DNF because they missed going through the line (class fleet). I have to say I'm still not clear what we do on average lap racing. I presume I can only record the times when they go through the line and they end up doing at least one less lap than the rest and one of laps is a very long one! This may sound a bit pedantic when applied to club racing but club ROs can act as open ROs and some helms going to opens I'm sure think that the RO has the power to chuck them out for going the wrong way. Certainly on smaller ponds with a plethora of malteser sized marks it can be too easy to lose ones way - so I think this is a not an uncommon occurrence. |
|
Like some other things - sailing is more enjoyable when you do it with someone else
|
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
41(d) surely... |
|
![]() |
|
Andymac ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Apr 07 Location: Derbyshire Online Status: Offline Posts: 852 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I'm sure that if you missed a 'gate' on an earlier lap then you wouldn't get a lap time until you came round again (therefore effectively losing a lap) and adversly affecting your average lap time. This is different to failing to cross the 'finish' line after the shorten course signal has been given. without a final 'finish' time it wouldn't be possible to work out an average lap time result which would be anywhere near fair. |
|
![]() |
|
silverwood ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 22 May 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 35 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
It seems quite simple. If a boat does not cross the start finish line, the Race Officer cannot legimately record either a lap time or finish time. Ergo,either the boat gets an overall lap score one lap down on what it would have been had they crossed the line, or a DNF because they simply did not finish by crossing the line. I cannot see how any protest by the competitor can possibly be upheld, unless the boat insists they did cross the line and the boat has sufficient witnesses of sufficient calibre to convince a protest jury it was the RO's mistake not theirs. Waiting half an hour is another issue...... especially if back to back races are being run. A query from the safety boat to the competiter along the lines of "Have you retired?" may help resolve the issue, but presumably only after the last boat has finished. |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |