Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Rule 18 for assymetrics gybing |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123> |
Author | |
asterix ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 01 Aug 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 621 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 15 Sep 09 at 5:05pm |
yes the 2nd cat had no business shouting that the 1st cat cant gybe in his water that type of shout also suggests the second cat was not up to date with the rules Edited by asterix |
|
![]() |
|
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Agreed. A good firm shout is required (look at them too) next time and then gybe. |
|
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Except possibly under Rule 2 if the PC though clear astern's claim of non existent rights was malicious... Ahead should have borne away and gybed and let astern protest... |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
This case has nothing to do with the peculiar problems of assymetric, cats and other such craft. It is a sorry story, apparement, of a PC not knowing the rules!
Second cat was clear astern,she must keep clear. If first cat gybes from port to starboard she goes from a right of way positionHowever, first cat must give room to second cat to keep clear when she changes course. A proper course for first cat was to gybe in order to avoid the Lasers, some of whom, at least, would have had right of way. First cat was unable to sail her course because second cat did not allow her to do so, and first cat was obliged to take avoiding action by luffing and tacking rather than gybing. ISAF Case 88 makes it clear that a boat may avoid contact and yet fail to keep clear. The first cat had a genuine and reasonable apprehension of a collision and, correctly, took avoiding action. Second cat did not keep clear and broke rule 12. Second cat should take a penalty. First cat should appeal on the grounds that the PC incorrectly interpreted the rules. It would be far simpler if second cat were to tfollow the example of Paul Cayard at the 505 worlds and, despite having "won" the protest,should retire. PC chairman should be given a copy of the latest rules and case book and told to read them. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I expect you're probably right, but we don't really have a lot of detail on this one. I'd be interested in seeing the actual decision and in particular the facts found. I presume what we have is pretty much ahead's point of view... If, for example, astern considered there was plenty of room to safely sail through the Lasers *and did so*, that might put a different complexion on things. |
|
![]() |
|
asterix ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 01 Aug 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 621 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
More generally, can anyone tell me why Rule 20 is written for going
upwind (beating) but not also for the down wind legs? |
|
![]() |
|
Ian29937 ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 25 May 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 409 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I'm getting royally confused - in Guests second post there is no mention of lasers. Were there any involved or not? I think Gordon is absolutely right in saying "Second cat was clear astern,she must keep clear. If first cat gybes from port to starboard she goes from a right of way positionHowever, first cat must give room to second cat to keep clear when she changes course." Just one other consideration - Rule 19 will stop someone running you into the obstruction but does not mention proper course. The second cat must therefore leave enough room for the first cat to avoid going aground but this could be achieved by bearing away onto a dead run without gybing. Without more accurate information it's not possible to decide whether this was a possibility in this case but I don't think you can assume that you can gybe and be dammned. And yes, I do sail an assymetric and understand the issues and frustrations of dead running with the kite up if I were the first boat. Ian
|
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I agree that the stattement by first cat is not the same as the "facts found" in a protest. However based on what was said the only point on which there could be debate is whether the Lasers had right of way. If this is established , then they are an obstruction for the cats. In which case the right of way boats is entitled to choose which side she wishes to pass the obstruction.
In any case, I do not read this case as a rule 19 situation - second cat was clear astern then on port when first cat was on starboard. As long as first cat gives her room to do so when she changes course, second cat must keep clear. Rule 20 only relates to situations in which a boat wishes to tack to avoid an obstruction and to avoid another boat on the same tack. Without rule 20 the boat would be unable to tack because in doing so she would break rule 13 "while tacking". Rule 20 provides for a temporary suspension of rules 13 and any other rule of Section A and rules 15 and 16 during the time that a boat is being given room to tack and avoid the obstruction and the other boat. When a boat does not have to tack to avoid an obstruction rule 19 applies. Room to pass an obstruction may include room to gybe. However once an inside boat gybes she may well no longer be passing the obstruction (as she would be sailing away from it, and rule 19 would no longer aply, and the basic right of way rules would apply. Hope this is clear. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I quote "Another catamaran follows the F-18 as it approaches a straight line of lasers e.g. an obstruction."
Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
You cannot "gybe and be dammed". As ROW boat first cat must give second cat room to keep clear when she changes course (rule 16.1).
However as first cat goes from right of way clear satern to ROW starboard rule 15 "acquiring right of way" does not apply. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |