Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Tacking in a boats water |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Author | |
Jon Meadowcroft ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 26 Aug 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 64 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 20 Jul 09 at 11:23pm |
Tacking boat keeps clear Boat acquiring right of way keeps clear Lots of obligations on LW accordingly Given that it sounds like you were ducking as LW tacked sounds like you maybe could have carried on? Anyway without diagram impossible to say more but I would not want to be LW in the protest room with the facts as you portray them. |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Agreed, but as I understand it WW had room to duck until LW changed course. It is the ROW boat's cahange of course that creates WW's difficulty.
Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
Garry ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 18 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 536 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
If windward was ducking MD on starboard then MD is an obstruction and LW must give WW room if they are overlapped. So might there be a rule 19 (is it now) infringement as well as 16?
|
|
Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298 www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
From the start: MD changes course and gives WW room to keep clear (no issue) MD passes head to wind and keeps clear of WW from that moment until she is on a close hauled course (no issue) MD acqires right of way and gives WW room to keep clear (no issue). WW on port ducks to keep of MD on starboard (no issue). At this point WW is keeping clear of LW (no issue). LW changes course by luffing. As right of way boat she is obliged to give room to WW to keep clear. According to the evidence given WW cannot bear away further, neither does she have room to tack in a seamanlike manner. According to the evidence given it looks like LW broke rule 16.1 by not giving WW room to keep clear and should take a penalty. Two points - 1.LW may well provide contradictory evidence that WW did have room 2. There is no evidence that LW had passed heard to wind. if she had done so she is obliged to keep clear of WW Rule 16 puts an obligation on a ROW boat to ensure that her change of course does not put a keep clear boat in a position that requires her to make unseamanlike manoeuvres to fulfill her obligation to keep clear. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Right then....for all those out there who like to digest these... Picture this: 3 boats, all on port. Boat 1 (WW) is to wndward of the other 2 boats but is clear astern of them both. Boat 2 (MD) is the 'middle' boat of the 3 and is clear ahead of boat 1 but overlapped to leeward by boat 2 (LW) Boat 3 (LW) is the leeward of the 3 boats and is clear ahead of boat 1 (but not by much) and overlapped on MD Approaching the starboard layline. MD tacks on to startboard (no issues here, they are clear enough ahead so they do not impede WW by their actions). WW sails high then tries for a late duck just as LW decides to tack. As LW starts to head up to tack they allow WW to become overlapped to windward of them. WW then has nowhere to go, they are committed to the duck and can only tack in the gap (tiny) gap, there is not enough room for them to duck further and duck LW. My question is did LW have the rights to tack (I am crap with diagrams but hopefully you can picture it). For the record I was WW and I did do turns as I was not sure, it was not until after I had the though that perhaps LW should not have tacked where they did. He and I had a quick chat after but neither of us could decide who was right or who was wrong. |
|
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |