New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: What constitutes a mark rounding?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

What constitutes a mark rounding?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 07
Location: Cambridge
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2899
Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: What constitutes a mark rounding?
    Posted: 06 Nov 12 at 4:32pm
Pretty sue that as long as you don't hit the mark (as this boat did), then it is only the bits of the boat that are in the water that need pass "around" the mark- flying hulls, wings , canted over rigs etc can pass through the airspace above and even "inside" the mark all they want as long as contact isn't made.
-_
Al
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Nov 12 at 2:41pm
I guess this picture deserves a link in this thread. [They didn't quite pull it off]. The narrative at the bottom of the page suggests they took this approach because of spectator boats, which were comprimising their rounding.  http://www.yachtracingimageoftheyear.com/award2012/kristin-browne/
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 12 at 10:36am
Originally posted by catmandoo

does hitting the ro with your board constitute hitting a mark

That's easy: its a gross breach of good manners, hence RRS69 [grin]
Back to Top
catmandoo View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 545
Post Options Post Options   Quote catmandoo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 12 at 9:52am
Ah but thats a completely different scenario and not in question , however i would take from the above isaf clarification , that once you  had satisfied the requirement of " completly returned to the course side of the finish line " 
you could.   
THEN finish correctly if your subsequent finishing involved flying a hull over the mark ,
 in fact does it even matter how you return "completely"to the course side of the line , as wether you flew a hull over the line on the way back is immaterial as once "completely" on course side of the line , Just dont spin round ends on one hull 


So get "completely " course side.   Then  approach again flying a hull as high as you can , after all its what us cats like best  Wink


Raises question , does hitting the ro with your board constitute hitting a mark ,or bad etiquette


Edited by catmandoo - 30 Aug 12 at 9:58am
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 12 at 10:14pm
However.... consider rule 44.2... when a boat takes a penalty at or near the finishing line, she shall sail completely to the course side of the line before finishing. In this particular instance you cannot fly a hull, or any part of the hull, equipment or crew over the mark!
Gordon
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 12 at 7:11pm
Blimey, 6 1/2 years for a definitive answer!
Well done for the update Catmandoo.
Back to Top
catmandoo View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 545
Post Options Post Options   Quote catmandoo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 12 at 1:47pm

ISAF Racing Rules Question and Answer Service

D 003 Q&A 2009-014

Published: 09 January 2009

Question

A catamaran on port tack approaches a leeward mark to be left to port. Does a catamaran that

"flies" its port (windward) hull over, and possibly to windward of, a leeward mark comply with the

requirements of rule 28.1 in relation to that mark rounding? The starboard hull is the only hull in

the water (creating a track) and this hull passes the mark correctly.

Answer

Yes.

Back to Top
Matt Jackson View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 21 Sep 04
Location: Darlington
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 962
Post Options Post Options   Quote Matt Jackson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 06 at 4:57pm
Originally posted by far canal

not really , cats are meant to sail at optimum with windward hull  "Normally " "just " out the water .

When doing wild thing offwind sometimes it pays to lift win ward hull pretty high and with no board down either . got a rudder though !

Scoobys scenario - if plate was in the water  -      but other side of mark (pretty small one ) I would agree , not rounding , but going over !

As for letting anyone do it otherwise , I have no problems , i doubt there is anything in the rules to stop them anyway , adds colour to the occaison and good photo ops .

 

 

 

Better to concentrate on race rather than antics

Whatever

Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 06 at 4:25pm
If you really want a complicated situation imagine a cat that misjudges the run up to the mark and lifts the windward hull to clear the mark, and the rig then hits an outside/leeward boat. The helm of inside dumps the main and the windward hull hits the mark.

Its agreed by both parties that if the cat had approached the mark with both hulls in the water and far enough out not to hit the mark then outside had left enough room for inside to get round the mark.

Who does how many circles and why?

Back to Top
far canal View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king
Avatar

Joined: 01 Feb 06
Location: Micronesia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 110
Post Options Post Options   Quote far canal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 06 at 1:18pm

not really , cats are meant to sail at optimum with windward hull  "Normally " "just " out the water .

When doing wild thing offwind sometimes it pays to lift win ward hull pretty high and with no board down either . got a rudder though !

Scoobys scenario - if plate was in the water  -      but other side of mark (pretty small one ) I would agree , not rounding , but going over !

As for letting anyone do it otherwise , I have no problems , i doubt there is anything in the rules to stop them anyway , adds colour to the occaison and good photo ops .

 

 

 

Better to concentrate on race rather than antics



Edited by far canal
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy