| Free mast for Merlin Rocket - has a bend! Guildford |
![]() |
| Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
| Bruce Roberts classic 45 Valencia, Spain |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
downwind ROW boat obstruction rules |
Post Reply
|
Page 12> |
| Author | |||||
Brass
Really should get out more
Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Topic: downwind ROW boat obstruction rulesPosted: 05 Aug 22 at 12:56pm |
||||
That looks a bit scrambled. See Jim's discussion above. Something is an obstruction if it complies with the definition,which refers to a boat being hypothetically one boat length from it. Whether it actually 'obstructs' a boat or not. |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
ClubRacer
Far too distracted from work
Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 05 Aug 22 at 12:32pm |
||||
|
Thanks for that. Certainly helped me understand the wording in definitions as I was getting confused as to where the 1 hull length came in. I now understand its only an obstruction if you were to pass it within a hull length and not entitled to keep a hull length from it.
|
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Brass
Really should get out more
Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 05 Aug 22 at 12:06pm |
||||
'Cos I copied it from the email version that I got, to get rid of the horrible coloured text <g>.
That's what your animated diagram showed. The answer is: G did not change course or take any other avoiding action. There was no contact. See Case 50. B and Y did not fail to keep clear. No rule was broken. But less than 1 BL, means, to me, nearly one boat length, which is a lot more than a whisker. If, on the other hand, G had changed course and protested, then Y and/or B would have broken rule 10.
Was it a seamanlike hair? B is going to need to come into a protest hearing and prove that she was given less than some specific amount of space, which she needs to convince the protest committee was less than prudent seamanship required. |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
ClubRacer
Far too distracted from work
Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 05 Aug 22 at 10:00am |
||||
|
I had changed infringed to break within a few minutes of posting the original, unsure how you managed to quote the pre-edit
Thanks for the answers they are exactly what I was after. New question: are any rules broken if yellow holds its course and green misses blue by a hair (less than a hull length) without having to change course? Same question again but blue and yellow are passing an anchored cruise liner which blue misses by a hair Edited by ClubRacer - 05 Aug 22 at 10:22am |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Grumpycat
Far too distracted from work
Joined: 29 Sep 20 Online Status: Offline Posts: 497 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 05 Aug 22 at 7:05am |
||||
|
Actually it depends if you believe in facts or unicorns .
![]() And I am not saying which side is which. Best to leave that can of worms un opened
![]() |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
JimC
Really should get out more
Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 05 Aug 22 at 6:28am |
||||
Depends who you ask... |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Brass
Really should get out more
Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 05 Aug 22 at 12:30am |
||||
Yes.
Yes, although, I think if Y gybes, she's going to end up parallel and overlapped to windward of G, with B in the gas, possibly CASTN of Y. If B gets her nose into the gap and becomes overlapped on Y, to windward of her, then Y is now windward boat, required to keep clear of [G and] B, and required to give B room to pass between Y and G.
As long as G is on stbd and B and Y are on port, G is the right of way baot an an obstruction to B and Y. Whether a Y is required to give B room depends on whether rule 19 applies at all. Rule 19 applies between boats 'at' an obstruction. I think 'at' means 'when an inside boat needs an outside boat to give her room to pass between her and the obstruction'. Whether boats are on a 'collision course' doesn't really matter, the issue is whether B needs Y to give her room to pass between Y and G. If B is on a 'collision course' with G and B needs space between Y and G to pass between them, then Y must give B that room.
Well, it sounds like you are describing the very thing that rule 19 is there to prevent: Y 'scraping' B off against the obstruction. When Y and B are 'at' G, the obstruction, Y is required to give B, room, that is the space she needs, acting promply and in a seamanlike way, to pass between Y and B. so the test is going to be, how much space was there between Y and G when Y gybed away. If Y's intention was as you describe, there probably won't be enough space, and Y will break rule 19. And boats don't 'infringe' rules. They 'break' them.
Well, that's going to depend on what the evidence proves about the actual amount of space, but Y is on very shaky ground. Edited by Brass - 05 Aug 22 at 12:32am |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Brass
Really should get out more
Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 05 Aug 22 at 12:04am |
||||
Is that because of Brexit? |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
JimC
Really should get out more
Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 04 Aug 22 at 4:36pm |
||||
|
This is the point. The green boat is an obstruction for both boats. The definition doesn't say "without changing course when she is sailing directly towards it". It says "IF she WERE". If we're racing in Hayling Bay France and the Isle of Wight are obstructions. Its just that no action is needed to give room at them. So 19.2b applies. But outside doesn't have to do anything to give inside room to pass France or the IOW.
Edited by JimC - 05 Aug 22 at 6:27am |
|||||
![]() |
|||||
ClubRacer
Far too distracted from work
Joined: 26 Sep 15 Online Status: Offline Posts: 210 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 04 Aug 22 at 2:50pm |
||||
|
I would say that both Yellow and Blue are sailing directly towards it and are within a hull length of Green.
Hypothetically then if Green were to pass over a hull length back from Yellow if they both held their course and Blue and Yellow are overlapped and Green will hit Blue. Does Yellow still have to give room to Blue to pass in front if Yellow chooses to do so?
|
|||||
![]() |
|||||
Post Reply
|
Page 12> |
| Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |