New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Windward /leeward
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Windward /leeward

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
ClubRacer View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 26 Sep 15
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote ClubRacer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Windward /leeward
    Posted: 23 Jun 16 at 10:15pm
nicely put jim
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 16 at 1:29pm
The Leeward boat has Right of Way (RRS 11), Section A rule

The Leeward boat is restricted in what it can do by Section B rules, particularly RRS15 and RRS17.

In particular RRS 17 says that if the overlap was established from behind rather than below, the leeward boat may not sail above her proper course. Proper Course is defined in the definitions, which are a vital and arguable understudied part of the rules. The proper course is the one you would sail in the absence of other boats.

In simplified practical terms this means that the leeward boat may not luff the windward boat or sail higher because of the wind shadow of the windward boat, but if the leeward boat was sailing higher before the boats became overlapped she may continue to do so.

The windward boat must always keep clear of the leeward boat, even if it means sailing higher than she wants to. The course the windward boat would like to sail is irrelevant because she doesn't have right of way. Its important to note that keep clear means rather more than not touch. If the two boats are 6 inches apart windward has failed to keep clear.

Very roughly speaking windward must keep clear, but leeward is restricted from aggressive boat on boat tactical manouvers.

Edited by JimC - 20 Jun 16 at 5:01pm
Back to Top
limey View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 21 Dec 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 46
Post Options Post Options   Quote limey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 16 at 1:00pm
Can someone please clarify the windward leeward rule for me

Two asymmetric boats are reaching under spinnaker. the boat behind slowly catches the boat in front and overtakes to leeward . Once an overlap is established what rights if any does the Leeward boat have ? Can he luff if providing the windward boat sufficient time to respond. If he was sailing a slightly tighter angle than the windward boat does the WW boat need to alter his course.  When he sails in to the windward shadow of the WW boat can the LW boat luff to refill his genniker. Please can someone give me a full explanation of the rules , thanks


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy