New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Right of way with three or more boats
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Right of way with three or more boats

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
NickA View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 30 Mar 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 784
Post Options Post Options   Quote NickA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Right of way with three or more boats
    Posted: 13 Jul 10 at 8:08pm
I have "the rules in practice" book which is an excellent guide with lots of examples of boat-on-boat rights of way.   But it's not so hot on tangles involving three or more boats.

Who can answer the following two (for example)

1.  Start line

Boat A is on the start line as the gun goes and boats B & C slot into the gap between boat A and the committee boat.  As the gun goes, Boat A luffs sharply forcing B to luff to avoid a collision.  Boat B calls to boat C who can't luff because he's trapped between B and the comittee boat.  All three boats knock hulls.

Boat A is in the right and sails off - but what about B & C?  Should they both do turns?  Who's to blame for the collision?

2.  Room to tack

A, B and C are on starboard beating towards the shore with A closest to the bank.  Boat A calls for water and tacks to port,  B has to tack to port to avoid being hit by A.  C stands-on, calling "starboard" to B on the basis that B can either sit head to wind until C has passed or B can duck C.

Is boat C in his rights to stay on starboard?  At what point can boat C fairly expect A & B to tack back onto Starboard, heading back towards the bank?


Javelin 558
Contender 2574
Back to Top
asterix View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 01 Aug 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 621
Post Options Post Options   Quote asterix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 10 at 8:36pm

for your second question - see ISAF Case 113 in the 2010 Supplement to The Case Book for 2009 – 2012.

http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/2010SupplementCaseB-[8260].pdf

 

Back to Top
MattK View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 02 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 221
Post Options Post Options   Quote MattK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 10 at 8:49pm
Why is boat A luffing? Once the gun goes it no longer has the right to luff to head to wind, as there is now a proper course, so it can't luff above its chosen upwind sailing angle, Boat A is in the wrong if i have interpreted the question correctly
Back to Top
Garry View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 18 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 536
Post Options Post Options   Quote Garry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 10 at 9:14pm
I tend to agree with Matt although it depends on when and
how the overlaps were established. However, the words
luffs sharply would also imply that B wasn't given time
to respond as they would have to wait for C to respond
and A needs to allow for that when altering course.
Since there was contact I'm not sure A would be
successful in a protest since there would appear to be no
reason why A couldn't have avoided contact rule 14 I
think, since it's A's course change that caused the
contact.

My guess is A left it too late to close the door on B and
C and would have been better hiking hard to heel to
windward and giving B dirty air or if handicap racing and
B was a lot faster bearing away to open a gap so they
could tack away for clear air.

On the limited facts presented I'd be very tempted to
disqualify A

Edited by Garry
Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 10 at 11:57pm

Originally posted by NickA

1.  Start line

Boat A is on the start line as the gun goes and boats B & C slot into the gap between boat A and the committee boat.  As the gun goes, Boat A luffs sharply forcing B to luff to avoid a collision.  Boat B calls to boat C who can't luff because he's trapped between B and the comittee boat.  All three boats knock hulls.

Boat A is in the right and sails off - but what about B & C?  Should they both do turns?  Who's to blame for the collision?

You can generally get through complicated situations by applying the rules 'pairwise' between boats.

Where B cannot respond because of the presence of C and C cannot respond becaues of the RC Boat, then A, changing course, has not given B room to keep clear and breaks rule 16.1.  A, having nothing to leeward to prevent her from bearing away to avoid contact also breaks rule 14, but might be protected from penalty if there is no injury or damage under rule 14(b).

B does not keep clear of A.  B breaks rule 11.  B, changing course has not given C room to keep clear and breaks rule 16.1.  B is compelled to break rules 11 and 16.1 because of A breaking rule 16.1.  B should be exonerated under rule 64.1(c).  Because she is compelled by A, it is not reasonably possible for B to avoid contact with A or C and B does not break rule 14.

C does not keep clear of B.  C breaks rule 11.  C is compelled ot break rule 11 because of B breaking rule 16.1.  C should be exonerated under rule 64.1(c).  Because she is compelled by B, it is not reasonably possible for C to avoid contact with B and C does not break rule 14.

The scenario has B and C becoming overlapped on A from CASTN to windward of A.  Rule 17 and proper course do not apply.

 

Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 10 at 12:08am
Well lets go through the first one... I'm no expert at this but...

Part A, Rule 11 applies, windward/leeward so B must keep clear of A and C keep clear of B. I don't see why Matt thinks A can't luff, assuming B and C both established overlaps from leeward.

Rule 14 no collisions applies to all, but if there was no damage or injury A cannot be penalised being ROW boat.

Rule 15 doesn't apply to A: A was always ROW boat. It might apply to B, we don't know.

Rule 16.1 applies A on B, B on C

Rule 17 doesn't apply to A, might apply to B, we don't know.

None of Section C applies because its a start.

So A is entitled to luff B (and C), subject to room

C did not touch the committee boat: did they respond to B adequately? The CB witnesses will be very important for this one...
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 10 at 12:17am

Originally posted by NickA

2.  Room to tack

A, B and C are on starboard beating towards the shore with A closest to the bank.  Boat A calls for water and tacks to port,  B has to tack to port to avoid being hit by A.  C stands-on, calling "starboard" to B on the basis that B can either sit head to wind until C has passed or B can duck C.

Is boat C in his rights to stay on starboard?  At what point can boat C fairly expect A & B to tack back onto Starboard, heading back towards the bank?

If A hails and tacks simultaneously, she has not given B time to respond and
A breaks rule 20.1(a).

If C is so close to A and B that C will have to respond before A is able to tack, then C is a 'hailed boat' and must respond in accordance with rule 20 (Case 113).

If, on the other hand, C is a little more separated from A and B, so that it is NOT necessary for C to respond before A is able to tack, then C is NOT a 'hailed boat' and owes no obligation under rule 20.

Under rule  20, B is required to tack or give A room to tack and avoid her:  in neither case is she required to keep clear of A, thus, A, tacking, is NOT an obstruction to B, and B has no entitlement to hail C under rule 20, unless safety requires B herself to make a substantial course change to avoid the shore.

Generally, a boat having responded to a rule 20 hail by hailing 'You tack', and giving room to tack, may then stand on and force the hailing boat to tack again (Case 101).



Edited by Brass
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 10 at 12:20am
Originally posted by asterix

for your second question - see ISAF Case 113 in the 2010 Supplement to The Case Book for 2009 – 2012.

http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/2010SupplementCaseB-[8260].pdf

For goodness sake, guys, use the up to date Case Book that ISAF provides:

http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/CaseBook20092012with2 010changes-[8229].pdf

Back to Top
asterix View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 01 Aug 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 621
Post Options Post Options   Quote asterix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 10 at 8:41am
Originally posted by Brass

Originally posted by asterix

for your second question - see ISAF Case 113 in the 2010 Supplement to The Case Book for 2009 – 2012.

http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/2010SupplementCaseB-[8260].pdf

For goodness sake, guys, use the up to date Case Book that ISAF provides:

http://www.sailing.org/tools/documents/CaseBook20092012with2 010changes-[8229].pdf

the two descriptions of case 113 are identical - arn't they?

Back to Top
NickA View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 30 Mar 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 784
Post Options Post Options   Quote NickA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 10 at 8:23pm
Think Brass may be right on this one (here's a picture). 



B (Blue) annd C (Green) didn't really have room above A (red) who can sail notoriously high and will luff to his highest point of sail as soon as the gun goes.  But all the same, there was room on the start line and A didn't leave room after the gun went off.  Seems that if A wanted to shut B & C out, he should have done it before the start. 

So is Brass correct that A is in the wrong?  When this happened to me, boat A sailed off and won the race whilst B & C did turns!!!!!!


Edited by NickA
Javelin 558
Contender 2574
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy