Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Mark rounding |
Post Reply ![]() |
Author | |
dave21 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 12 Nov 07 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 8 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 06 Jan 08 at 4:06pm |
Hi. I must admit to being a little rusty on the rules lately, I'm not sure who was right or wrong here... Handicap racing - Myself and a slower boat were approaching the same mark on a reach. The slower boat had water and quite rightly called for it. After the call for water was made, our boat accelerated to the point where we could get around the mark cleanly. I took advantage of this and rounded as normal (without leaving space). The slower boat rounded behind us saying that he had to take avoiding action, which from my point of view certainly wasn't the case and considering the gap between us both left me thinking that he was pushing his luck. Anyway, I was in two minds of what to do and since this was 'friendly' club racing, I reluctantly did my turns a continued. The situation left me thinking though, If I had rounded the mark giving water (for a boat that was no longer there) I assume there wouldn't have been an issue. However, if you do cut the corner, do you simply leave yourself open for a protest regardless of the outcome? Thanks. |
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
If it came to a hearing it would be down to evidence... I think if you didn't have a witness on your side you'd probably be in trouble. If I were on the jury, and he said he had to alter course to clear your transom as you turned, even if you had broken the overlap, then I'd find that quite likely unless there was evidence to the contrary...
|
|
![]() |
|
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I agree with Jim. You be binned unless you could PROVE that the other boat had not taken avoiding action. You should give room unless you can be CERTAIN that the other boat will not need it. I'd suggest that it's safer to give the room, make an out wide and then come in tight if you were CERTAIN the boat behind would not need room. It's a risky business not giving room! |
|
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Having water at a mark does not exist in the Racing Rules. When Rule 18 applies a boat may either be required to give room, or, if the other boat is also a right of way boat, to keep clear. There are major differences between these requirements.
In this case it is unclear whether the slower boat was an inside boat (overlapped to windward or leeward) or was clear ahead. The rules that appply will difffer according to the case. Perhaps a few more details could be supplied. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
Garry ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 18 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 536 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I assume that the slower boat was inside and you were the first boat to enter the 2 length circle. Remember as you bear away to round the mark you potentially slow down, also as you pull ahead the inside boat gets clearer wind and your wake to surf on) meaning the boat behind might have to make an adjustment of course to keep clear. It doesn't matter that you broke the overlap in 2 lengths, or even if the change of course by the other boat was very small, or even necessary. If they felt they needed to (and did) adjust their course you infringed rule 18 and possibly 11. Assumes a port rounding and beam or broad reaching. Assuming you were handicap racing and the speed differential was substantial (i.e lark Vs RS400). Then if I was the slow boat I would want you out of the way as quickly as possible so i could make a good rounding (min time strategy) and would actually encourage you to cross once clear so I could go in wide and wouldn't really want you to do turns = overtaking me (and taking my wind ) again. However, as a faster boat you have to see slower boats as stationary objects and steer to keep well clear (that's part of your min time strategy). If the speed differential was close then I would want the best tactical position still consitent with min time around the course. If I it was fleet racing with more than 1 fleet on the same course my strategy would depend on the position of the closest boat I was racing against, but you have to rember who you're actually racing. If you were a fast boat back with the slow boats because you don't sail too well in your fast boat then Gentlemanlly conduct says you should try and not mess them up consistent with the rules (when I sail the contender once I've capsized a few times when its windy and I am stuck back with the Solos I don't bother with calling starboard unless I have to duck loads of boats, I'm effectively out of the race so why mess someone else up, I hope to receive quid pro quo another time). Whatever the situation its worth a discussion over a pint with the other boat. |
|
Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298 www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk |
|
![]() |
|
dave21 ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 12 Nov 07 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 8 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Hi again.
Thanks for the responses - certainly some food for thought. As I remember, the situation was that we were both on a starboard tack rounding the mark from a reach on to a beat (slower boat to windward). This all happened quite early on in the race, so what with us not having the best of starts, we caught the slower boat on the reach and overtook on the approach to the mark. I suppose my question is now regarding giving enough water. I now understand the fact that making a normal rounding in such a situation does leave you open to a protest pretty much regardless. To me (and I may well be wrong), giving enough water means allowing the other boat to round the mark with enough space so as to be unobstructed by the boat giving way. Does this mean that the boat giving way should round wide even if no obstruction will take place? Lets take for example, an I14 overtaking a topper (extreme I know) – again beam reach rounding to beat with the topper to windward. The 14 goes below the topper through good manners and the topper calls for water. Because of speed difference the 14 is well passed the topper for the rounding. If the 14 was to cut the corner, well clear of the topper, surely there is no infringement? Right or wrong? |
|
![]() |
|
Garry ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 18 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 536 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
If the Topper, handled in a seaman like way did not have to alter course or change speed to avoid the other boat then no rule infringement took place. Did you just harden up or did you tack in front of the slower boat?
|
|
Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298 www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |