Print Page | Close Window

First boat for tall new sailor with dodgy bacK

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Choosing a boat
Forum Discription: Ask any questions about the sport!
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=13657
Printed Date: 29 Mar 24 at 2:29pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: First boat for tall new sailor with dodgy bacK
Posted By: Clive99
Subject: First boat for tall new sailor with dodgy bacK
Date Posted: 23 Aug 20 at 6:51pm
Hi all, sorry for yet another new boat post...I am completely new to sailing and have just enjoyed doing the level 1 course. Whilst waiting to do the level 2 course next month I am pondering which dinghy to purchase. I am 6’3” and about 70 odd kg, in my late 40’s with a dodgy lower back and knees which grumble after too much kneeling. On this basis I probably shouldn’t be considering a dinghy at all but life is too short and I can’t afford a Bavaria yacht...
I am looking for something which is able to move along nicely but is also comfortable. I think comfort will equate to a high boom and a deep cockpit where my feet are lower than my bum. Also not too heavy for pulling up the slipway. (Pulling a Pico was fine at around 60kg.)
At present I’ve only sailed the Pico which has quite a high boom but not much height between feet and bum when perched on the side decks and felt very cramped.