Print Page | Close Window

Finishing rules

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=13451
Printed Date: 15 Dec 19 at 12:55pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Finishing rules
Posted By: Sam.Spoons
Subject: Finishing rules
Date Posted: 02 Nov 19 at 4:25pm
This was the last post on a Finishing thread in the " https://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_topics.asp?FID=34&title=mark-rushalls-troubleshooting-corner" rel="nofollow - Mark Rushall's Troubleshooting Corner " forum dating back to Jan '07.

My thoughts in red but I'm interested to know if I'm right?

Originally posted by ChrisJ

What are the rules and typical usage on the finish line?

If I get my nose across first, but I am on port - can I tack late and end up in the way of the starboard tacker (I have already "finished")?

I'd say yes, but maybe only if he has finished before you cause him to need to take avoiding action?

Or, can I get the bow across the line, and then bear away hard to dive below the starboard boat and still retain my finish position? My bow first, but his stern / whole of the boat first?

Yes

What about the spinaker pole sticking out the front? If the previous lap I had pulled the pole out before the mark (ready for a quick launch), am I allowed to do the same thing at the finsh?

No, the pole is not part of the hull.




-------------
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish"



Replies:
Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 02 Nov 19 at 6:03pm
This is mostly about the definitions.
Specifically "Racing" and "Finish"


Finish
A boat finishes when any part of her hull, or crew or equipment in
normal position, crosses the finishing line from the course side. However, she
has not finished if after crossing the finishing line she
(a) takes a penalty under rule 44.2,
(b) corrects an error under rule 28.2 made at the line, or
(c) continues to sail the course.

Racing
A boat is racing from her preparatory signal until she finishes and
clears the finishing line and marks or retires, or until the race committee
signals a general recall, postponement or abandonment.



So No, Yes, No (pole is not in normal position as boat is not about to launch the kite as part of the race)


Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 02 Nov 19 at 9:18pm
The middle one, finish then duck, has never occurred to me, but does take an interesting set of circumstances if finishing upwind. Bow across line, and still able to bear away to clear but not able to tack or cross. Can a tone draw that, please?

-------------
Firefly 2324, Lightning 130, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446


Posted By: Brass
Date Posted: 02 Nov 19 at 9:23pm
Originally posted by Sam.Spoons

This was the last post on a Finishing thread in the " https://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_topics.asp?FID=34&title=mark-rushalls-troubleshooting-corner" rel="nofollow - Mark Rushall's Troubleshooting Corner " forum dating back to Jan '07.

My thoughts in red but I'm interested to know if I'm right?

Originally posted by ChrisJ

What are the rules and typical usage on the finish line?

If I get my nose across first, but I am on port - can I tack late and end up in the way of the starboard tacker (I have already "finished")?

I'd say yes, but maybe only if he has finished before you cause him to need to take avoiding action?

The rules of Part 2 (Right of Way, Room, etc) apply between boats that ... are racing or have been racing. (Preamble to Part 2)  

Starting on port tack, you're required to keep clear of the starboard tack boat, whether you have finished or not (rule 10).

Big bear away and duck will keep clear (although ti might put you in dutch with the next boat after the starboard tacker you are ducking).

If you tack, you are port tack, required to keep clear (rule 10) until you pass head to wind, then you remain required to keep clear until you have reached your new close hauled course (rule 13), when you will probably be same tack to leeward, right of way boat, required initially to give the other boat room to keep clear (rule 15).  So you are exposed throughout the whole tacking manoeuvre.

Once any part of your boat crosses the finishing line you are still racing until you have cleared the finishing line and marks (Definition:  racing) and all the above apply and on valid protest you will be penalised..

Once your boat has cleared the finishing line and marks, you are no longer racing, and in accordance with the preamble you can no longer be penalised for breaking rules 10,13, or 15, BUT you are no subject to rule 24.1:  If reasonably possible a boat not racing shall not interfere with a boat that is racing.  And the Preamble says you can be penalised for breaking that rule if you interfere with the other boat before she has cleared the finishing line and marks.

So I think the answer is 'no'.

Or, can I get the bow across the line, and then bear away hard to dive below the starboard boat and still retain my finish position? My bow first, but his stern / whole of the boat first?

Yes

Yes

What about the spinaker pole sticking out the front? If the previous lap I had pulled the pole out before the mark (ready for a quick launch), am I allowed to do the same thing at the finsh?

No, the pole is not part of the hull.




Posted By: Sam.Spoons
Date Posted: 02 Nov 19 at 10:15pm
Originally posted by Rupert

The middle one, finish then duck, has never occurred to me, but does take an interesting set of circumstances if finishing upwind. Bow across line, and still able to bear away to clear but not able to tack or cross. Can a tone draw that, please?

TBH, I'd be surprised if you could duck but not be in a position to tack if your bow was first across the line.




-------------
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish"



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com