URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=12075
Printed Date: 17 May 22 at 6:08pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Laser2
Posted By: giwy1
Subject: Laser2
Date Posted: 06 Jul 15 at 1:54pm
Hi All,

I have been sailing for about 6 months but only on a lake, I have now moved and my nearest club is on the sea so this is a new challenge for me. Also my old club use to hire out boats but this club doesn't so i am looking to buy my first boat. I would like the option to sail single handed and the option to take a friend or sibling out. However I am 19st and my son for instance is about 16st and 6ft 4, this is probably the most extreme if I went out with a crew.

I am looking at buying a Laser2 after doing a bit of research, I'm not wanting to race just have a good time on the water and cruise around a bit.

What are peoples views?
What other boats would be recommended?

I have read that the Laser2 turtles really easy and I know where my new club is it's a bit muddy, so if I am out on my own and the boat turtles what are the likelihoods of it getting stuck in the mud and if so what are the likelihood of me being able to free it and righting the boat and if all else fails what are my options.

I would always sail fairly close to the shoreline if I'm out on my own, until such times that I feel that I have the skills and confidence to go out further. The club is at the mouth of an estuary.

Any advise on any of the above would be really helpful.

Please keep in mind my size and lack of experience.

Replies:
Posted By: kneewrecker
Date Posted: 06 Jul 15 at 2:47pm
Albacore would be a good bet.... for a singlehander, then really it's a finn or a Phantom.  

I'd saying 35 is stone in a Laser 2 is pushing it tbh....

Posted By: Pierre
Date Posted: 06 Jul 15 at 3:11pm
As per kneewrecker's comments really. You might want to consider an Osprey as well.

Good luck with the mud.......

Date Posted: 06 Jul 15 at 3:22pm