New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Penalty for missing a mark out?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Penalty for missing a mark out?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
chrisarnell1 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06 Sep 06
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 89
Post Options Post Options   Quote chrisarnell1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Penalty for missing a mark out?
    Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 9:39am
One of our sailors inadvertantly missed out a mark  in our club race at the weekend.
He was ranked "DSQ" but commented that this seemed a bit harsh and was he not "DNF" instead?
I'm not sure whether he ranks as a non-finisher for not completing the course or whether he would be disqualified under rule 28. (There was no protest hearing - the PRO simply marked him as DSQ)
What is the correct result for someone who doesn't sail the correct course but crosses the finish line?
RS300 393
OK GBR 21
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6350
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 10:04am
There is no penalty for missing a mark, you just have to go back and round it correctly.

But... the RC isn't allowed to disqualify without a protest hearing. So there needs to be a protest hearing under "Sailing The Course". If there wasn't he could make a request for redress, and if he appealed to the RYA then he would be reinstated. The case law is, I believe, quite clear on this.

However if I were the sailor in question I would point out their mistake to the RC, and at the same time retire from the race and expect to be scored RAF. It would be unsporting to do anything else.

Back to Top
Laser 173312 View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 08 May 07
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 416
Post Options Post Options   Quote Laser 173312 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 11:59am
Certainly DSQ is wrong. He either DNFed or did 1 lap less that everyone else. Happened to me the other week. I was rounding the last mark to port, not startboard. I thought I'd done 2 laps and I'd not done any.
Fine example to my novice crew.
 
Clown
Back to Top
Stuart O View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 22 Jul 07
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 514
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stuart O Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 12:02pm
As Jim said RO cannot make that choice without a protest hearing, then only option open is a DSQ, but obviously a quiet word to the competitor, probably would go for RAF
Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8719
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 12:09pm
It only really becomes a problem when the boat in question is certain they have sailed the right course, but others think a mark has been missed. Happened to me once years ago on the river, where there was a mark to sail round in the middle of the river half way round the course. My technique for rounding it (as it was upstream) was to just sail up to parallel to at at the bank, nip out round it and straight back to the bank asap. I was protested in one race for missing the mark out, when in reality I'd been out and back but spent no time out there. Luckily, I found a witness, or I'd have been out of the race. As it is, because of the way it was done, I've not been back to the club in nearly 20 years.
 
Many other times, I've thought Oh, Bugger, and retired, especially on lakes with knitted courses!
Firefly 2324, Lightning 130, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446
Back to Top
catmandoo View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 541
Post Options Post Options   Quote catmandoo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 12:10pm
jim c spot on .
 
Great bugbear of mine ROs DSQ when they have absolutely no right too, happened to me once , RO didnt even understand the course he made up ! , dsq me for not doing what he thought I should , I appealed to my club for redress , thrown out in hissy fit (turned out chair had made similar mistake running a race himself ) , no option other than appeal to RYA (as I was pretty peeved by then ) , won the redress and RYA also connfirmed my course sailed correct .
 
However I agree again had I not have sailed correct course I would have retired , if the boaty above realised after race he had sailed the wrong course , he should fall on his sword .
 
to answer question :
What is the correct result for someone who doesn't sail the correct course but crosses the finish line?
 
A. Finishing position . and its up to RO to protest, other competitor, or infringer to RAF (his decision - if he sailed wrong course )
 
sorry for repeating Jim C 's post , but this issue really gets my goats .
 
RO's cannot be judge and jury on these matters , especially when in club racing most ro's dont even know the rules .
 
In our notes to RO's we State .

"The Race officer

must record finishes and score as finished all boats that have started and finished correctly, you

cannot disqualify boats without a hearing for other infringements with exception of the prohibited

area (see Sailing instructionís),"

 
 
Shame no one reads em ! 
 


Edited by catmandoo - 06 Jun 11 at 12:12pm
Back to Top
timeintheboat View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 01 Feb 07
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 615
Post Options Post Options   Quote timeintheboat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 1:37pm
RO definitely in the wrong here. Agree with Catmandoo, ROs DSQing as judge and jury is a bug bear of mine.

A common cause of not sailing the correct course is where there is a requirement to sail through the line each lap - especially when the position of the line means making a detour from the route to the next mark.

In this case the boat should be DNF as they have not sailed the proper course. For handicap/average lap racing it can mean some much longer lap times!
Like some other things - sailing is more enjoyable when you do it with someone else
Back to Top
RS400atC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Dec 08
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2957
Post Options Post Options   Quote RS400atC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 2:17pm
It comes to the same thing effectively as the points are the same.
If the competitor does not dispute having sailed the wrong course, they must retire.
There was a thread about this last month, RO cannot DSQ without a hearing, but once the competitor has come ashore and found out he's missed a mark, (Been there, done that, several times!), he has no alternative to retiring.
If he does not retire, the RO should protest him.
Back to Top
marke View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 16 Jun 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 209
Post Options Post Options   Quote marke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 3:35pm
Having reviewed a lot of club SIs in recent weeks (don't ask - I'm just a sad old git) - I notice a lot of them specifically change the RRS to allow the OOD to DSQ a competitor that doesn't sail the correct course without a hearing or redress.

So you may want to check what the local SIs say.

Mark
Back to Top
alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 07
Location: Cambridge
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2899
Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 3:46pm
but is that one of the RRS that can be changed?
-_
Al
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy