New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Penalty for missing a mark out?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Penalty for missing a mark out?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Mister Nick View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 01 Aug 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 389
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mister Nick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 4:37pm
When I first started racing I used to miss a LOT of marks (as in, at least one per race) and I got disqualified every time. Not sure if that's within the rules, but that's how they dealt with me.   Ermm
Back to Top
asterix View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 01 Aug 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 621
Post Options Post Options   Quote asterix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 5:07pm
Originally posted by alstorer

but is that one of the RRS that can be changed?
 
afaics, yes it is (although RRS86 could be written more clearly)
 
SI can only change RRS in accordance with RRS86
 
RRS 86: includes "a racing rule shall not be changed unless permitted in the rule itself or as follows"
 
RRS 28 does not provide for rule 28 to be changed
 
But RRS 86.1(b) allows SI to change rule 28
 
I'm sure someone will tell me if I got this wrong!
Back to Top
alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 07
Location: Cambridge
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2899
Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 6:03pm
But, unless it was the last mark of the course that the boat missed, "Finish" is a Definition, not rule 28, and as such cannot be changed?  
-_
Al
Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8719
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 6:11pm
This sort of case is an excellent one for the adjudication process - the RO and the competitor can get together with a qualified 3rd party and talk the matter through, and the position can either be left or the competitor retire at the end of it, depending upon the outcome of the chat. 
Firefly 2324, Lightning 130, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446
Back to Top
Jon711 View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 07
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 465
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jon711 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 11 at 7:13pm
at one of my clubs the Ro can be judge and Jury in certain instances, BUT, not when marks are missed out - it is then up to other competitors to protest, or for the infringer to be invited to retire by the RO. In the SI's at this club, it is an immediate DSQ to sail between the inner distance and the committee boat at any time, and the RO can DSQ with no redress at any time during the race, so if you go in the gap on your third lap, you could be out... May not seem fair but everybody sails under the same rules. It is not nice (as an RO) telling someone that they are not ranked as a finisher, because the sailed through the gap!! We do try to remove either the ID or the committee boat to reduce problems!

So it may be that a study of the SI's would give you the answer, if it is not specifically mentioned, then the RO can not DSQ without a hearing, however, he may protest the competitor for not sailing a proper course..

Jon
Blaze 711
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 11 at 8:18am
This is a common cause of redress hearings - the RO cannot DSQ a boat. RO can penalise boats for a limited number of incidents including rule 28 AT THE FINISH LINE.

For anything else there must be a protest. There have been frequent attempts to allow Race Committees to DSQ for not sailing the course but they have always failed.

The SIs can allow a change to 28 but must also modify 63.1 and A5 to allow a penalty for not sailing correct course.

Now for a quiz question - can you correct a course error after having crossed the finish line?

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy