New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Room at a mark - 3 boats
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Room at a mark - 3 boats

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
ChrisJ View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 07 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 336
Post Options Post Options   Quote ChrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Room at a mark - 3 boats
    Posted: 15 Aug 10 at 6:16pm

3 boats, approaching leeward mark on a run / very broad reach. The course is to luff around the mark onto a close-hauled course.

A - Outside boat, in the lead.

B - Inside A / windward of A, with an overlap of about 1/4 boat length at 3-boat lengths.

C - Inside B / windward of B, with an overlap of about 1/4 boat length at 3-boat lengths. NO overlap on A.

C calls for room (loudly and clearly). B calls for room. A responds "no water" directed at C.

Within the circle, B drops back, C moves forward. So at the mark: A is outside boat, C is alongside and windward / inside boat. A continues to say "No Water" to C. C continues to say "Water [please]".

Who was in the right?

 

Back to Top
Xpletive View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 28 Jan 06
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 320
Post Options Post Options   Quote Xpletive Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 10 at 6:53pm

Originally posted by ChrisJ

Who was in the right?

.....the boat that rounded first without worrying himself sick about the rules.

Back to Top
Sailing4Life View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 26 Jun 10
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 38
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sailing4Life Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 10 at 7:13pm
C, at the point the first boat was overlapped (so B with
A) the rules start to apply and because C has overlap on
B he also has overlap on A, and rule 18.2 c states:

(c) When a boat is required to give mark-room by rule
18.2(b), she shall continue to do so even if later an
overlap is broken or a new overlap begins.

So the fact that B was no longer overlapped with A when
they eventually got to the mark does not take away the
fact that A should be giving room to both B and C to
round the mark.

Check out these websites for learning rules:

http://game.finckh.net/indexe.htm

and for learning rules while having fun:

http://www.sailx.com/
Rs600 + many others
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy