New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: case 7
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

case 7

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
asterix View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 01 Aug 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 621
Post Options Post Options   Quote asterix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: case 7
    Posted: 13 Jul 10 at 9:15am

Perhaps I am being thick but can someone explain why rule 18 is (apparently) not relevant and not even discussed in ISAF Case 07

http://game.finckh.net/reg_gbr/cases/case07.htm

Back to Top
jlecou View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Dec 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 29
Post Options Post Options   Quote jlecou Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 10 at 9:59am
Surely rule 18 only applies when one boat is in the zone - which presumably back then (1963?) was 2 boat lengths.  The collision ocurred at 20m out which I imagine was more than 2 boat lengths?
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Online
Posts: 6285
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 10 at 10:19am
Originally posted by jlecou

Surely rule 18 only applies when one boat is in the zone - which presumably back then (1963?) was 2 boat lengths. 

The cases are rewritten (or removed as appropriate) when the rules change, which is why you should never rely on an out of date case book.
Back to Top
asterix View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 01 Aug 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 621
Post Options Post Options   Quote asterix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 10 at 11:15am

eek - I thought it had been updated.  I will check.

thanks

Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Online
Posts: 6285
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 10 at 11:22am
Originally posted by asterix

eek - I thought it had been updated.

I'm not saying that copy is out of date, just saying the opinion - and maybe even facts found - in the case book are updated so the case reflects current rules, so 2bl may be replaced by 3bl and the like...
Back to Top
asterix View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 01 Aug 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 621
Post Options Post Options   Quote asterix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 10 at 11:56am
actually the I think the case is up to date - it appears in the 2010 case book and hasn't been amended as far as I can see.  It simply fails to specify where the boats are in relation to the zone (and how big the boats are).  A 20 m distance to the mark would be in the zone for boats of 7m and the result (I presume) would be that W was owed mark room and L failed to give it
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Online
Posts: 6285
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 10 at 12:04pm
As far as the case is concerned I think you can assume the boats aren't in the zone and mark room doesn't apply. After all they don't list all the other rules that don't apply either!
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 10 at 5:25pm
If the facts do not mention the zone you can assume that it is not relevant to the case. It was not found as a fact that either boat was in the zone.

By the way - the zone is defined by hull lengths, not boat lengths. Bow sprits, bumkins and other antennae do not count!

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy