FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Star

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
ellistine View Drop Down
Really should get out more

Online Status: Offline
Post Options Post Options   Quote ellistine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Star
    Posted: 15 Sep 09 at 9:14pm

Now I know I'm new to sailing and everything but who has the Star at the top of their "ooh I wish I could sail that" list?

Neither of them look like their enjoying it, gold medal or not!

Edited by ellistine
JohnW View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Quote JohnW Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 09 at 10:43pm

On the list yes, but not at the top.

I cant help thinking that in the photo above that the COG of the helm and crew are both about the same way out from the centre line, but the drop hike position seems to be more strenuous by the look on Bart's face. 

Peter Rhodes View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king

Post Options Post Options   Quote Peter Rhodes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 09 at 11:12pm
why do star sailors use that odd stlye of hiking? I've not seen it absolutely anywhere else
Rupert View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 09 at 11:55am
And how the hell do you get back on board when something happens and you need to crash tack?
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
JimC View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 09 at 12:05pm
Originally posted by Peter Rhodes

why do star sailors use that odd stlye of hiking?

Its seen in some other leadmines. Ynglings and Solings I believe. I think the theory is that its a bit less work than straight leg hiking, but nearly as effective, especially when the boat heels.